Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Static engine headlights - not lit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hanover Park, Il., USA.
    Posts
    8,222

    Default Static engine headlights - not lit

    Hello,
    For many years, I have made copies of all player engines into "static" engines using Route Riter. These are placed on sidings, yard tracks, industry tracks, etc.
    I would have to add my own lights to these static engine files, and mostly kept it simple, just adding dim lights to the front and back, as well as any walkway/step/truck lights.
    All is fine on the MSTS side, but none of these engines have their dim headlights on in OR - front or rear. Interesting thing is, all the walkway/step/truck lights are on as expected.

    Here is a sample of coding for the headlights - is there something else I should be doing in order for OR to show these lights?
    Lights ( 14
    Light (
    comment( Head light Top dim )
    Type ( 0 )
    Conditions (
    Headlight ( 0 )
    Unit ( 2 )
    )
    FadeIn ( 1.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.75 )
    Cycle ( 0 )
    States ( 1
    State (
    Duration ( 0.0 )
    LightColour ( ffffef8f )
    Position ( 0.0 4.35 6.87 )
    Transition ( 0 )
    Radius ( 0.35 )
    )
    )
    )
    Light (
    comment( Head light Bottom dim )
    Type ( 0 )
    Conditions (
    Headlight ( 0 )
    Unit ( 2 )
    )
    FadeIn ( 1.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.75 )
    Cycle ( 0 )
    States ( 1
    State (
    Duration ( 0.0 )
    LightColour ( ffffef8f )
    Position ( 0.0 4.15 6.85 )
    Transition ( 0 )
    Radius ( 0.35 )
    )
    )
    )
    Light (
    comment( Rear Head light ENGR dim )
    Type ( 0 )
    Conditions (
    Headlight ( 0 )
    Unit ( 3 )
    )
    FadeIn ( 1.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.75 )
    Cycle ( 0 )
    States ( 1
    State (
    Duration ( 0.0 )
    LightColour ( ffffef8f )
    Position ( 0.12 3.94 -7.91 )
    Azimuth ( -180 -180 -180 )
    Transition ( 0 )
    Radius ( 0.24 )
    )
    )
    )
    Light (
    comment( Rear Head light CNDR dim )
    Type ( 0 )
    Conditions (
    Headlight ( 0 )
    Unit ( 3 )
    )
    FadeIn ( 1.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.75 )
    Cycle ( 0 )
    States ( 1
    State (
    Duration ( 0.0 )
    LightColour ( ffffef8f )
    Position ( -0.09 3.94 -7.89 )
    Azimuth ( -180 -180 -180 )
    Transition ( 0 )
    Radius ( 0.24 )
    )
    )
    )

    Thank you for any information provided.
    Last edited by qballbandit; 02-13-2017 at 10:53 AM.
    Neil

    Here at home, in the railroad mayhem capital of the world.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    No Service lines
    From Lights manual:
    Service (1) (the unit is not in service e.g. a failed train lying in a siding)
    Charles

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hanover Park, Il., USA.
    Posts
    8,222

    Default

    Hello Charles,
    I assume when you state "From Lights manual", you mean from the main OR screen under "Documents"?
    Mine is greyed out, and it's because I have been using daily test versions. I'll try reloading 1.2 so I can look that up.

    Thanks very much!
    Neil

    Here at home, in the railroad mayhem capital of the world.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by qballbandit View Post
    Hello Charles,
    I assume when you state "From Lights manual", you mean from the main OR screen under "Documents"?
    Mine is greyed out, and it's because I have been using daily test versions. I'll try reloading 1.2 so I can look that up.

    Thanks very much!
    No I mean the MSTS lights manual "How_To_Specify_Lights.doc". All the OR manual says is "OR supports the whole set of lights accepted by MSTS."
    Charles

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hanover Park, Il., USA.
    Posts
    8,222

    Default

    Ah, ok - I am looking at that now. Rather vague though. Does the statement get added as it's own line, or to the "Conditions" section?

    edit: no luck seeing the lights when adding into conditions section, or as it's own line.
    Also, why would the safety lights all show without having a "Service ( 1 )" entry?

    A snip-it of safety lights:

    Light (
    comment( Rear ENGR Walkway light )
    Type ( 0 )
    Conditions (
    Headlight ( 0 )
    Unit ( 0 )
    )
    Cycle ( 0 )
    FadeIn ( 0.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.5 )
    States ( 1
    State (
    Duration ( 0.0 )
    LightColour ( ffe5eeff )
    Position ( 0.09 1.83 -7.8 )
    Azimuth ( -180 -180 -180 )
    Transition ( 0 )
    Radius ( 0.1 )
    )
    )
    )
    Comment ( Step Lights )
    Light (
    comment( CNDR Side Front Step Light )
    Type ( 0 )
    Conditions (
    Headlight ( 0 )
    Unit ( 0 )
    )
    Cycle ( 0 )
    FadeIn ( 0.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.5 )
    States ( 1
    State (
    Duration ( 0.0 )
    LightColour ( ffe5eeff )
    Position ( -1.03 1.42 8.57 )
    Azimuth ( -90 -90 -90 )
    Transition ( 0 )
    Radius ( 0.2 )
    )
    )
    )
    Last edited by qballbandit; 02-13-2017 at 12:26 PM.
    Neil

    Here at home, in the railroad mayhem capital of the world.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    LaVista, Nebraska, USA.
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by qballbandit View Post
    Hello,

    Lights ( 14
    Light (
    comment( Head light Top dim )
    Type ( 0 )
    Conditions (
    Headlight ( 0 )
    Unit ( 2 )
    )
    FadeIn ( 1.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.75 )
    Cycle ( 0 )
    States ( 1
    State (
    Duration ( 0.0 )
    LightColour ( ffffef8f )
    Position ( 0.0 4.35 6.87 )
    Transition ( 0 )
    Radius ( 0.35 )
    )
    )
    )
    Light (
    comment( Head light Bottom dim )
    Type ( 0 )
    Conditions (
    Headlight ( 0 )
    Unit ( 2 )
    )
    FadeIn ( 1.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.75 )
    Cycle ( 0 )
    States ( 1
    State (
    Duration ( 0.0 )
    LightColour ( ffffef8f )
    Position ( 0.0 4.15 6.85 )
    Transition ( 0 )
    Radius ( 0.35 )
    )
    )
    )
    Light (
    comment( Rear Head light ENGR dim )
    Type ( 0 )
    Conditions (
    Headlight ( 0 )
    Unit ( 3 )
    )
    FadeIn ( 1.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.75 )
    Cycle ( 0 )
    States ( 1
    State (
    Duration ( 0.0 )
    LightColour ( ffffef8f )
    Position ( 0.12 3.94 -7.91 )
    Azimuth ( -180 -180 -180 )
    Transition ( 0 )
    Radius ( 0.24 )
    )
    )
    )
    Light (
    comment( Rear Head light CNDR dim )
    Type ( 0 )
    Conditions (
    Headlight ( 0 )
    Unit ( 3 )
    )
    FadeIn ( 1.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.75 )
    Cycle ( 0 )
    States ( 1
    State (
    Duration ( 0.0 )
    LightColour ( ffffef8f )
    Position ( -0.09 3.94 -7.89 )
    Azimuth ( -180 -180 -180 )
    Transition ( 0 )
    Radius ( 0.24 )
    )
    )
    )
    Change the Unit to ( 0 )
    Richard Rasmussen
    The Locomotive Paintshop
    http://tlptrainsim.proboards.com/index.cgi

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by qballbandit View Post
    ...........
    Also, why would the safety lights all show without having a "Service ( 1 )" entry?
    I'm no expert on lights but I can read:

    Step 1: Setting requirements
    The first thing you must specify is when you want the light or lights in question to come on. This is done by setting a number of flags to define the requirements for the lights concerned to light – if no requirements are listed, the light will always be on.
    For your Safety lights all conditions listed are Zero. Same as if none listed.

    Quote Originally Posted by qballbandit View Post
    Ah, ok - I am looking at that now. Rather vague though. Does the statement get added as it's own line, or to the "Conditions" section?
    ......
    Another MSTS "gotchya" In the Document they are listed as "requirements" but the Name of the sub-section of the Lights section is "Conditions".

    As too why the dim headlights are not on: maybe you need a Control (1) (the player is not control of the unit [i.e. it is a helper locomotive or wagon) line also.
    Charles

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by solarnet View Post
    Change the Unit to ( 0 )
    That will turn the light on dim when the ENG is a trail of player, AI or loose consist.
    Charles

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA.
    Posts
    260

    Default

    Neil,

    Should be something along this order.

    Light (
    comment( Head light left bright )

    Type ( 0 )

    Conditions (

    Control ( 0 )

    Unit ( 2 )

    Service ( 1 )

    TimeOfDay ( 0 )
    )

    FadeIn ( 0.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.5 )

    Cycle ( 0 )

    States ( 1

    State (

    Duration ( 0.0 )

    LightColour ( ffffef8f )

    Position ( 0.1 3.653 6.5 )

    Azimuth ( 0.0 0.0 0.0 )

    Transition ( 0 )

    Radius ( 0.9 )

    )

    )

    )

    Control, Unit and Service can be change to what you trying to accomplish per the MSTS Lights Document. Time of day is optional based on what you are trying to show at various times of the day.

    Jim
    Last edited by jrmeindl; 02-13-2017 at 08:26 PM.

  10. #10

    Default

    Howdy boys.... this is the one I use for MLT's AC4400CW

    Light (
    comment( Head light Top Dim Not in Service )
    Type ( 0 )
    Conditions (
    Unit ( 2 )
    Service ( 1 )
    Control ( 1 )
    )
    FadeIn ( 0.5 )
    FadeOut ( 0.5 )
    Cycle ( 0 )
    States ( 1
    State (
    Duration ( 0.0 )
    LightColour ( FFFFFFFF )
    Position ( 0.0 3.43 10.14 )
    Transition ( 0 )
    Radius ( 0.6 )
    )
    )
    )

    as you can see, it's an extra light section in the .eng file.

    Peter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •