Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Why you are using MSTS RE instead of TSRE?

  1. #11

    Default

    I'm still using the old RE because I have so little time to work on my route projects, and I already have a rhythm in place for working in 20-30 minute sprints. Everything I'm working on already has Demex and SRT Terrtex, so I don't see much of a benefit in changing.

    If I were working on a brand new route, I'd be more willing to invest the time in starting it in TSRE from the beginning.

    The other issue is what I'd say is a lack of consistency in the commands. If there was a quick reference chart that had the equivalent MSTS commands listed side by side with the TSRE way of doing it, I'd be more willing to try it. I'm not going to wade thru literally hundreds of pages of forum posts here or on ET to do the conversions on a one by one basis.

    Again, I've got 20-30 minutes here and there, much of it without internet connectivity, and 10 years of finger memory where I don't have to even think about what I have to do to perform a particular task. You can't downplay the usability challenges involved with learning a new tool. ORTS put a lot of thought into keeping certain keystroke commands the same, mainly for that reason.
    Last edited by eolesen; 02-17-2017 at 10:59 AM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    3,591

    Default

    Because at present most of my route projects are sitting in Trainz (TANE) Surveyor and as per Eric's response above any fledgling MSTS projects are established in the MSTS Editor where things are familiar.

    However I am keen to try the new editor and if I can break my current hiatus and actually get one or more of my current projects finished, I am looking forward to giving it a try. There's also the subliminal view that working in something versioned at 1.x is more reassuring than starting work in a 0.x i.e. still beta version.
    Vern.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    174

    Default

    1.0 version of RE is TSRE v0.7.
    If there ever will be TSRE 1.0 , it will be fully featured train sim game. But I wouldn't count on it.
    Last edited by GokuMK; 02-17-2017 at 01:21 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Alexandria, Va, USA.
    Posts
    496

    Default

    I too am in the middle of building a route and didn't want to try switching editors when it is months away (I hope) from completion. Maybe when starting a new route from scratch I will try working with the new editor.
    Steve Dunham
    Alexandria, VA
    www.stevedunham.50megs.com

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Woodland, California
    Posts
    377

    Default

    I started my California Route Project (now to be rebranded as the Northern California route to save on memory real estate in future) in MSTS, but over time I switched to TSRE. I'm slowly working on extending the California Northern line from Davis to Tehama, CA, and then working from there back on the Union Pacific Valley Subdivision in both directions. I'd prefer procedural track, to make it easier to lay track instead of piece by aggravating piece, but I understand that will be a while before that happens. I regularly check for updates, and am pleased with your progress, Goku. The reason I haven't made any posts on my route is because of my working full time in a casino 20 miles from home. I too work in 1-2 hour bursts, on top of checking what's going on in the railroad community, and TV time.
    "Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today." - James Dean
    calrouteprojectmstsorts.weebly.com/
    californiapacificrailroadorts.weebly.com/
    Cheers, S. J. Hjellum

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    3,591

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GokuMK View Post
    1.0 version of RE is TSRE v0.7.
    If there ever will be TSRE 1.0 , it will be fully featured train sim game. But I wouldn't count on it.
    Understood, chap. As I said just a question of timing for me and I sincerely hope to start using and supporting your great efforts on this later in the year.

    Edit: The other thing to bear in mind is there was always a fairly low level user base of the RE, even at the sim's height. Probably no more than 100 - 200 serious route builders worldwide. That number has dwindled considerably, many MSTS route builders have left the hobby, sadly left us altogether, moved on to the other sims or in my case use it only occasionally. It's hard to estimate but between a handful in the UK perhaps a few more in North America, possibly the Indians there's probably less than 25 or 30 people globally these days creating route content for MSTS.
    Last edited by NorthernWarrior; 02-19-2017 at 02:54 AM. Reason: Overnight Thoughts/Musings
    Vern.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Last minute suggestion. Hope it's not to late.
    I would be great to be able to pick an item from another route and place it in the route you're building.
    Maybe an import window that would allow you to browse your route folder, view the .s file (similar to sviewer), and select/import the necessary files so you can place it in your route.
    I realize that's asking a lot but how cool would that be.

    Randy

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    468

    Default

    From rdayt -

    Maybe an import window that would allow you to browse your route folder, view the .s file (similar to sviewer), and select/import the necessary files so you can place it in your route.
    At least in my case (I'm still using the old MSTS RE), I just close it and copy the shapes and textures in, then update the .ref if I need something new in a route. I was always under the impression that closing out and then reopening the RE occasionally (basically refreshing it) was always a good practice. I'm sure Goku's shiny new TSRE will be a lot less prone to problems from not doing that, but it probably still wouldn't hurt to close and reopen once in a while. I figure if I'm going to do it anyway, I may as well get something done while I do

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,048

    Default

    I am still using the MSTS "default" Route Editor for the exact / same reason, as some ( real-life ) professionals, do, as part of their daily work.

    Extensively proven "reliability"..., is paramount, for some of us.

    No time, and no risk to be taken, "rolling the dice", on "the latest"... and totally regardless, if a new Route Editor, is in fact , "better", or even "way... better".

    I certainly welcome others to have a look / take the plunge, but when you have in excess of 100,000 hours of hard work on a Route, you can totally see the need for being..."cautious" . That only makes sense, I guess ...'-)

    Jean Brisson (MSTS only ) Route Builder

  10. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GokuMK View Post
    I'm close to "final" MSTS route editor release, so it is last chance for your suggestions.
    What do you mean 'last chance'? I thought this hobby learned its lesson from becoming dependent upon closed software whose authors variably vanish and fail to support evolution of their product as operating systems change.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •