Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Z trains???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Bite me, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    1,432

    Default Z trains???

    Zed
    Zee
    Whatever...

    Anywase I have a couple of questions

    Horsepower is usally about 3:1 ?
    Z is the Z for trailers...ei "ALLZ"
    Can containers also be on a Z train
    Are they usually just container chassis with containers or just regular trailers..

    Thanks alot...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Kent, Washington
    Posts
    2,479

    Default RE: Z trains???

    Well, Z Trains here are usually double stack containers, and trailers. We also have roadrailer trains.

    Btw... Need to adjust your sig banner...

    If you plan on using a signature banner in your posts, we would like to remind you that there is a maximum size for banners. That maximum is 450 pixels wide by 120 pixels high, and not to exceed 25k. Your compliance is appreciated.
    Brian Bundridge
    TrainSim.com Moderator

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Bite me, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    1,432

    Default RE: Z trains???

    Mac,

    The banner is not connected to the train-sim base...want me to resize though?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Augusta, Ga, USA.
    Posts
    4,610

    Default RE: Z trains???

    Z trains are for the most part, trailers. UPS and UPS owned companies, as well as leased trailers. Also you will see BNSF and LTL trailers, as well as some over the road trailers sometimes. A Z is the same as what was commonly reffered to in previous years as the "hot train", or Santa Fe's 991 trains. While most Z's are UPS, as Mac said, it depends on what region and what railroad. I too have seen containers on Z's, but not very often. We get two CSX Z's through here going west in the morning, cuaght both of them yesterday within an hour of each other. All UPS.

    To answer your other question, they use a wide range of cars to transport them. Well cars, 89' flat cars, and spine cars. Whatever they have in the yard. Horsepower is key though. They are some of the most overpowered trains on the rails. CSX uses 2 units for about 50-60 cars, while BNSF and UP uses normally 4 units for the same amount of cars, but they are alos in the mountain regions.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Falls Village, CT, USA.
    Posts
    3,331

    Default RE: Z trains???

    >Mac,
    >
    >The banner is not connected to the train-sim base...want me
    >to resize though?

    It needs to be 450 X 120 max if you read that green thing on the top

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    New York, New York, USA.
    Posts
    1,027

    Default RE: Z trains???

    Where I live [link:http://www.nycsubway.org/perl/show?28790|Z trains all look like this]
    :+

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Kent, Washington
    Posts
    2,479

    Default RE: Z trains???

    Chris, yeah, need to resize it to the forum specs.

    Sorry, thought I posted a reply here, guess not.
    Brian Bundridge
    TrainSim.com Moderator

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Bite me, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    1,432

    Default RE: Z trains???

    rodger... I'll just get rid of it, looks like hell resized...blurs to much...ahh well

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •