Thread: Engine catching on fire... Is this common?

Default Engine catching on fire... Is this common?

I'm a railfan newbie that was just listening to the Railroad Radio for the first time tonight, and I was astonished by all the chaos I heard on the LA channel. Over the course of a few hours I heard:

- One train tripping a detector ("dangling equipment")
    - Another train failing a "air check" because of a "broken air hose"
    - One train ran a red signal without permission (oops see the boss)
    - and finally last but not least, an engine apparently "blew up" and caught on fire (cue the fire trucks).

From what I heard it soundled like the engineer got clear and was not hurt. I think the engine was BNSF #4901, but it was all very hard to follow so I'm not certain.

Together with all the little things (people going missing, orders being messed up, cars ending up on the wrong siding) I've got to ask, is what I've hearing a normal night at the railroad? Where is the NTSB in all this? How can a diesel engine just "blow up", anyway?
    - MW

Default RE: Engine catching on fire... Is this common?

ya diesel engines can go sky high when they go. parts every where piston over there rod over there hot oil all over the exhuast and can make some darn good fires .at work when they blow and catch fire we just go the other way . some of them dont give a warning when they go but usaualy you can tell when there ready to go and shut them down.

>Together with all the little things (people going missing,
    >orders being messed up, cars ending up on the wrong siding)
    >I've got to ask, is what I've hearing a normal night at the
    >railroad?

Yep. Sounds about right to me. The engine catching fire is rather rare. Going through a red board is definately not something you want to happen often. It does occasionally happen and its at least a 30 day "vacation".

Pinlifter

>I'm a railfan newbie that was just listening to the Railroad