Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Transport Tycoon

Default Transport Tycoon

Something made me look around for info on a DOS game that I really like.

I found out that Chris Sawyer had finally made a WIN XP compatable sequil of the great game "Transport Tycoon Deluxe". Chris originally started the series of games about 1995 +-. If you go to the Atari sight I think there is a story about how he was working on a sequil and suddenly got a pashion for rollercoasters and the project made a drastic turn which gave us the fantastic game of "Rollercoaster Tycoon".

Supposedly Chris still has interest in transportation games and after doing a lot of work on rollercoasters he went back and created a new transportation game called " LOCOMOTION " I just picked up two copies at Best Buy.

I am still learning the new rules for this game and can not really say how good the game is but I figured that if Chris created it and he thinks it is an improvement to "Transport Tycoon Deluxe", then I am pretty sure I'm going to love it.

Wild Willy the Wacko

Default RE: Transport Tycoon

I have been playing with Locomotion since it came out. Its fun like the first one. I don't like the technique for laying track. Its just like the roller coaster tycoon track (same creator). It definately takes some getting used to. The price was decent $26.99 at bestbuy. It has a few new features, but if you liked the classic, you'll enjoy this one.

Thanks, I'm done with my work now and I'm going back to check out the game some more.

I got hooked on the original game when my family made me take down my HO train and race car layout. I played it as a model train layout for a long time and progressed through the many variations that the options allowed. It was a good economical model as well and I hope Locomotion has the infinite variation that the original had so as to keep playing. If not, I have Win 95 and the " replay" version to put on an antiquaited machine.

Wild Willy the Wacko.

Ahh Sweet...