Thread: Railroad Collection-In Way Over My Head

Default Railroad Collection-In Way Over My Head

Thought it might be neat reading to list the stuff in my collection of real railroad artifacts both for myself and others. I began collecting seriously about 5 years ago when I was 15. This is my "railroad junk" collection as it stands right now, not including railroad paperwork like timetables, track charts, orders, etc.

I don't even want to know the collective cost of money and time I've sunk into these things, but I do know they've given great joy and much appreciation to those who maintain these parts---I basically self taught myself how to work on these with only occasional guidence sought after getting stuck---it happens.

Numberboards

6972 -B&O GP30 with rubber gasket
    8128 -CSXT former Clinchfield SD40-2
    931 -Frisco SD45
    206 -SCL S12 switcher

Signals

B&O CPL dwarf with green/yellow/red, no markers
    B&O CPL dwarf with green/yellow/red, bottom center marker
    B&O CPL mast signal with green/yellow/red, top, left and center markers, and bottom left and center markers (yes, complete with tall a$$ mast!!!)

Horns

Leslie Supertyfon S-5T -Unknown origin, aluminum "dome" power chambers

Leslie Supertyfon S-5T -C&O GP7 or RSD12, solid bronze "tab" power chambers

Westinghouse B7 airhorn, think it's former B&M

Misc

Conrail FRED
    WRRS mechanical crossing bell
    20805 Gyralite by Pyle National, with flange and visors, former Espee GP9 (Sweet!)
    Railroad lantern- Yet to have researched origin
    Type "E" knuckle -Door stop
    Safetran junction box cover from local crossing signal that got leveled last week in a grade crossing accident - not worth anything, just a keepsake.

No more....

Amtrak 775 numberboard- Gave it to father who wanted it for young son's bedroom

Nathan Airchime P135R24 new cast on gullwing manifold -Traded it for one of the Leslie S-5Ts.