Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Error in Update SD40-2 .S file(s) - Problem & Fix

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Andover, NJ, USA.
    Posts
    384

    Default Error in Update SD40-2 .S file(s) - Problem & Fix

    Hi All,

    I certainly didn't discover it, but Paul Gausden, the author of S-Viewer did.

    Since it appeared in this thread, Post #10 by Paul,

    [ [Link Expired]

    there has been little comment made by others on the impact on every SD40-2 model based on that one. There is a syntax error in the SD402.s file, on a line in the code that animates the left wiper. (It ends in " )\ " excluding the quotes.) That extra backslash keeps the .s file from showing up in the viewer, but more importantly it prevents all of the .s files based on it, from being compressed.

    While sipping my second cup of coffee this morning, I went through my Trainset folder and discovered 15 other SD40-2's that shared the problem. That's a lot of disk space to be recovered by those on a strict HD diet. :) :)

    The fix .. ( It took me about an hour ).. edit all of your downloaded freeware SD40-2 .s files .. compress the fixed files with RouteRiter MSTS file utilities .. check them .. and .. delete the uncompressed backup files. You can send me 10 percent of the HD space that you free up ! :) :)

    Spread the word,
    Bob Kambach









  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    CHEYENNE, WYOMING, USA.
    Posts
    696

    Default RE: Error in Update SD40-2 .S file(s) - Problem & Fix

    Bob:
    Thanks for the tip, I used SFM to fix. Now my SD40-2's show up. Sorry, but I need the HD space too. :-)

    Cyndi




  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Deventer, Netherlands.
    Posts
    1,745

    Default RE: Error in Update SD40-2 .S file(s) - Problem & Fix

    Hi,

    Thanks a lot for the tip.
    Just an other reason why a s file don't want to be compressed. :-)

    Dick van den Hoven
    [Link Expired]

  4. #4
    ske2751 Guest

    Default RE: Error in Update SD40-2 .S file(s) - Problem & Fix

    Now there is an answer that I was looking for.

    As far as i knew the Shape Files were not editable but this one sure was.

    Did anyone tell the Author of the Program?

    Now I can Display my SD40-2's

    Thanks for the Info

    http://esketcher.homeip.net/train2.html

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Post Falls, ID & Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    324

    Thumbs up Thanks, finally fixed the V1.2 SD402

    Thanks. Fixed the SD402 from the V1.2 upgrade. Also the fixes in the library were bad also so I fixed those as well.

    Regards
    Jib01

    I want to thank all the developers and
    addon people for the work they do.
    I appreciate your efforts. Great Work !!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Rijen NL
    Posts
    2,875

    Default

    Never knew there was a solution for this. Thanks for kicking the topic!

    One problems after editing and compressing the shape: Shapeviewer crashes when I try to view the shape. Before compressing the shape shows up allright. After compressing SView dies...

    Any ideas to that???

    Rob

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Where Standard Gauge is 3 feet between the rails.
    Posts
    10,170

    Default

    It amazes me that such a simple problem exists in the file and they just went right ahead and released it anyway...

    Robert

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Metro Washington, DC, USA.
    Posts
    6,244

    Default

    Probably used default physics and the gp38 cab too - ROFL

    Some reskinners strike me as being lazy enough to do that - even though they have all known of the problems - how else do you explain default physics on new reskins when Bob's stuff has been in the F/L for ages?
    Chuck Schneider
    Chief Cook and Bottle Washer (Virtual CEO)
    North American (Virtual) Locomotive Works

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Glendale, Az, USA.
    Posts
    1,033

    Default

    There are 2 files in the library with the fixes already done.

    sd402fix.zip and sd402upd.zip.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Rijen NL
    Posts
    2,875

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jtsdadinaz View Post
    There are 2 files in the library with the fixes already done.

    sd402fix.zip and sd402upd.zip.
    Thanks for the message. No problems anymore with Sview.

    Rob

    BTW: I noticed some shape files are edited by the repainter to match with the texture names. They're not the same as in the updated shape in the library. Got some work to do...
    Last edited by Robkeb; 09-02-2008 at 02:31 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •