Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: TSM installation on XP x64: A "how to" guide.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Unremarkable
    Posts
    3,059

    Default TSM installation on XP x64: A "how to" guide.

    Hello folks,

    Thought I'd put this tutorial up for the few that might find it helpful. Although many of you out there run x86-based Microsoft OS's on your units, I'm sure that a few of you run the x64 variant of XP (and the compatibility freaks probably run dual boots of XP x86 and XP x64).

    If you do, and if you own Train Sim Modeler, you have probably found out by now that you will receive the following error, or one quite similar, when starting up the Installshield auto-installer:

    "The program or feature"\??\C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\TEMP\~EX B0001\DISK1\SETUP.EXE" cannot start or run due to incompatibility with 64-bit versions of Windows. Please contact the software vendor to ask if a 64-bit Windows compatible version is available."

    and

    "WinExec failed: return=216"

    Contrary to what some may tell you, this is not an incompatibility of TSM itself, rather, it is the outdated Installshield auto-installer that is not supported by x64, hence why one receives the above error.

    As TSM itself is perfectly compatible with XP x64 (have no idea as to whether the following can be done on Vista x64 - proceed at your own risk), there is no reason why the faulty auto installer should prevent you from using the program on your x64 system, for there is a way to work around the auto-installer, provided you own at least one other computer (or are running a dual boot system) with an x86-based OS, and, if using a second unit, a portable USB drive. Any of the XP x86 editions, Windows 2000, ME and/or 98SE should be just fine as the secondary unit.


    --Side note:
    If you're looking to bum a ride and get yourself a free copy of TSM, you can forget about it. Nothing that follows (feel free to read it through) will provide you keycodes or additional 'access' to the program that you wouldn't otherwise, had you not read this guide.

    --Another note:
    This guide is not warrantied by Abacus or myself. Following this guide may void your Abacus warranty (which you probably will never use in the first place), and the risk involved is solely YOUR responsibility.


    That said, the process is reasonably simple and undemanding, and should be easy for most who are comfortable with the workings of Windows:

    #1: Install Train Sim Modeler (AbacusTSM.exe) onto the secondary x86 unit in the default TSM directory. Simple enough. You will need your password for installation, and for later steps, so keep it on hand.

    #2: Copy the "Abacus" folder from "C:\Program Files" onto your USB hard drive, or burn to a CD if you do not have a USB drive. After doing so, run the TSM un-install program to remove the copy of TSM from your x86 machine, if you desire.

    #3: Connect your USB drive to your x64-based system (or slide in your CD), and paste the "Abacus" folder from your data device into the "C:\Program Files (x86)" folder on your x64 machine.

    #4: Create a shortcut (place it wherever you please) to the TSM program - the directory should be: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Abacus\TS Modeler\TSModeler.exe" - this user-created shortcut takes care of the "Program Files"/"Program Files (x86)" naming differences between the original program shortcuts and the new installation location.

    At this point, you should be able to start up TSM in Demo mode. That's all well and good, but you can't export anything in Demo mode, and god knows you paid for TSM to work. Ordinarily, you'd click the "Upgrade Registration" button on the "Help" bar to validate the Demo, but you might note that clicking on it will result in...nothing. To get around this, we will have to make a few revisions to the Windows Registry.

    WARNING:
    Incorrect modification of the registry incorrectly may corrupt vital boot information on your operating system. While the following modifications are reasonably easy, and should give no trouble if done correctly, one should not attempt them if they are unfamiliar with the Windows Registry.

    #5: Under the following directories, create these new string values (you will need your registration key at this point):

    Under
    "HKEY_CURRENT_USER > Software> Abacus > TSModeler", create a new string value named "flags." Fill in the 'value data' with your TSM registration key.

    Under
    "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > Software", create a new key called "Abacus." Under "Abacus," create a new sub-key "Train Sim Modeler," and under "Train Sim Modeler," create a key "1.10". In the "1.10" directory, create the following string values:

    "Company" (value data should be whatever you filled in for "company" in the auto-installer during your previous installation of the program)

    "Name" (value data should be whatever you filled in for your name in the auto-installer)

    and

    "Serial" (value data should be your registration key).


    Returning to the registry root, under
    "HKEY_USERS > S-1-5-21-(these numbers will vary) > Abacus > TSModeler", create a new string value named "flags." Fill in the 'value data' with your TSM registration key, once again.

    #6: Close the registry editor (make sure to double-check all of your work in the editor before closing), and fire up TSM again. The text in the lower right of the screen should now reflect the version you have (Train Sim Modeler Pro/Train Sim Modeler Commercial). Likewise, under Help > Upgrade Registration, the proper registration key should be shown, and the export to MSTS features should be unlocked.

    Hopefully, these tips work for you. Best of luck.

    Take care,

    Kurt
    KLW TrainSim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Unremarkable
    Posts
    3,059

    Default RE: TSM installation on XP x64: A "how to" guide.

    Correction - directory for third registry edit should read as follows:

    "HKEY_USERS > S-1-5-21-(these numbers will vary) > SOFTWARE > Abacus > TSModeler"

    -Kurt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    South Eastern PA
    Posts
    2,060

    Default

    Update to this thread: These instructions by Kurt also work for installing TSModeler to a Windows 7, 64 bit edition computer.
    Steven


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    591

    Default

    Thanks for that.

    TSM is now running on my Windows 7 64 bit laptop.
    (I say it's my computer but someone called Administrator seems to think he owns it)

    Only difference is that the entry under HKEY_USERS was already filled in.

    Now I can flood uktrainsim with even more wagons
    http://www.atomic-album.com/showPic.php/80489/WWCo.jpg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    South Eastern PA
    Posts
    2,060

    Default

    I didn't notice till just the other day, but there is also a "downloadable" version of this Tutorial in the TrainSim.com File Library; Search Term "TSM".
    Steven


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Unremarkable
    Posts
    3,059

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kingconrail76 View Post
    I didn't notice till just the other day, but there is also a "downloadable" version of this Tutorial in the TrainSim.com File Library; Search Term "TSM".
    Same version, released as a .DOC file, IIRC.

    -Kurt

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Chadds Ford, PA
    Posts
    3,060

    Default

    Wait a second... Is that Kurt Kaminer actually making an appearance in person??

    Good to see you stopping by, Kurt!



    Steve

  8. #8

    Default

    hello, I tried the procedure first. TSmodeler works, but when exports
    program "shape viewer does not read the files. help!
    I have windows seven, 64-bit.

    excuse me for English, I used a translator

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA.
    Posts
    112

    Default

    I was SOOOOO worried for a second! Wheeeeww (wiping head) I JUST got my new PC together (windows 7 pro 64bit) and was installing all my software. All seemed well until I got to TSM. Compatibilty mode works pretty good. However it didn't work at ALL for this. Google (and trainsim members lol) are your friend. Did a search, found this, and wah-lah! TSM installed and running! Thanks to the poster!
    Cion Jones
    Founder & CEO - Train Zone Online LLC.

  10. #10

    Default

    Speaking of TSM has anyone seen a question about why TSM conversion to binary fails while converting to .s files?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •