Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Problem with outside the train sounds! Help!

  1. #1

    Default Problem with outside the train sounds! Help!

    When I use more than two of the NALW P-42 units I lose the sounds of the crossing gate bells and the sound of the A-1 train coming at me.
    Would really appreciate any help on this.
    Thanks in advance.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    71

    Default RE: Problem with outside the train sounds! Help!

    Having the same problem here and I think it is a MSTS bug.:( I don't think you can here some other sounds as well, f.e. the air being released from the brakes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Metro Washington, DC, USA.
    Posts
    6,244

    Default RE: Problem with outside the train sounds! Help!

    Guys I'm out of town so I don't have my notes for sure....
    IIRC, But I think it has something to do with the total amount of sounds being played in the game.....
    Also with the capcaity of the machine you are using for MSTS....
    I.E more memory, SB Audigy as opposed to built in Sound, Processor speeds and feeds.... etc....

    Chuck Schneider
    Chief Cook and Bottle Washer
    North American Locomotive Works
    [Link Expired]
    Chuck Schneider
    Chief Cook and Bottle Washer (Virtual CEO)
    North American (Virtual) Locomotive Works

  4. #4

    Default RE: Problem with outside the train sounds! Help!

    Chuck,
    Thanks for the info.
    I am running a SB Live 5.1 sound card.
    I have 512 DDRAM and a 1.8 gig Athlon CPU.
    I have my sound quanities slider at "high".
    Any thoughts?
    Thanks!
    Noslop

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Metro Washington, DC, USA.
    Posts
    6,244

    Default RE: Problem with outside the train sounds! Help!

    OK I am running an Audigy and 1024mb of DDR and a Athlon 1900+ so we are very close on specs....
    I don't remember testing the Genesis sounds with more than 2 engines at one time... So I will have to see if I can re-create the problem...
    Give me a couple of days and I'll get back to you....

    Chuck Schneider
    Chief Cook and Bottle Washer
    North American Locomotive Works
    [Link Expired]
    Chuck Schneider
    Chief Cook and Bottle Washer (Virtual CEO)
    North American (Virtual) Locomotive Works

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA.
    Posts
    198

    Default RE: Problem with outside the train sounds! Help!

    Hi Guys,
    YES!! It is an MSTS bug or really just a limitation at this point. Like many things with MSTS there is a limit to the number of sounds that can happen at one time. I noticed it first when testing A-B-B-A sets of F units that other sounds started to go away like crossing bells, road traffic, and some AI trains. The more greedy the sound set is for multiple sounds the more sounds go away elsewhere. We really need the sound card industry to catch up and create sound cards with larger amounts of memory and even higher fidelity. As cheap as RAM has gotten why not make a Sound card with about 1 gig of ram on board, this could hold more than enough of the short samples needed for MSTS.
    So it's just like the lights thing. Yeah, I can add 50 lights to a locomotive but if you run several of them then signals start to go away in MSTS. Right now it's finding balance between enough sounds to make MSTS locomotives fun or realistic without losing others.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Metro Washington, DC, USA.
    Posts
    6,244

    Default RE: Problem with outside the train sounds! Help!

    Thanks Rob...
    Saved me some test time...
    I expected it would be something like that...
    I guess those of us with Audigy Cards are less likely to see it than the guys with on-board sound.

    Chuck Schneider
    Chief Cook and Bottle Washer
    North American Locomotive Works
    [Link Expired]
    Chuck Schneider
    Chief Cook and Bottle Washer (Virtual CEO)
    North American (Virtual) Locomotive Works

  8. #8

    Default RE: Problem with outside the train sounds! Help!

    Hi,
    Thanks for the info.
    I guess the old saying is true that you have to give up something to get something.
    Now, can you answer another sound question?
    Why do I hear the "over the trestle" sounds BEFORE my loco gets to the trestle itself.
    Is that a sound bug issue also?
    Thanks for the help.
    Noslop

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA.
    Posts
    198

    Default RE: Problem with outside the train sounds! Help!

    Best I can tell it is a bug, not sure if it's all on MSTS or the soundcard or a bit of both. I have a Soundblaster live and get that as well as other sound region type sounds. It seems that as you approach those spots and the sound is loaded and cued to play it starts triggering early. I have seen some folks claim improvments with some sound cards by turning of the Soundcards Hardware acceleration but this didn't work for me.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Columbus, OH, USA.
    Posts
    80

    Default RE: Problem with outside the train sounds! Help!

    I had a similar problem with some SD-40's on the East Metro route.. strange how this sim works. I guess, for the people in the lower levels of resources and power, it becomes a trade-off between having more than two locomotives up front, and hearing a grade crossing bell

    Scott Riley

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •