Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: HO Scale SD70i

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB, Canada.
    Posts
    4,176

    Default HO Scale SD70i

    Hey all

    I have recently been on a hunt for an Athearn Genesis SD70i in Canadian National.

    Athearn has dicontinued it some time back and I am looking for anyone / any hobby shop that may have one for sale.

    I have found undecorated ones, BUT you don't have the same amount of forgivness in an airbrush as you do with Paintshop Pro or Photoshop. So for now .... me painting it is OUT !!

    E-bay turned up one CN Scheme, but it was in " as is " condition.

    If any of you know of a hobby shop that still has one of these kicking around please let me know either in this post OR you can e-mail me at

    [email protected]

    Thanks

    Later

    Tim K - VIA Rail Canada 🇨🇦 Western Region

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, United States.
    Posts
    632

    Default RE: HO Scale SD70i

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=110037714374
    Says it is new, has just been track tested.

    http://cgi.ebay.ca/Athearn-Limited-P...QQcmdZViewItem
    And there is an SD75I.

    http://cgi.ebay.ca/Athearn-Genesis-H...QQcmdZViewItem
    Another SD75I. I know not what you asked for, but would go well with the SD70I above.
    Regards,
    Dan Zollner - 3DTrains

    https://www.trainsim.com/vbts/image.php?u=57004&type=sigpic&dateline=1198006966

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB, Canada.
    Posts
    4,176

    Default RE: HO Scale SD70i

    OK Dan

    Thats odd because I looked on ebay and only found one and it was in " as is " condition !

    Thank you VERY much !!

    Off to shop

    Later

    Tim K - VIA Rail Canada 🇨🇦 Western Region

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Amos, Canada
    Posts
    573

    Default RE: HO Scale SD70i

    Hey are located in Montreal and Laval but they have some good deals

    www.locopassion.com
    www.udisco.com/
    www.accesrepentigny.com/reseau/

    BTW, i have purchased a Athearn AMT F59PHI, i'm looking for a DCC chip i can add on. Someone have a little idea what model i can install on ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, United States.
    Posts
    632

    Default RE: HO Scale SD70i

    Ben,
    Would that be the N Scale F59PHI? I had the N Scale F59PHI and wanted to convert it to DCC. Unfortunately, there is no specific decoder that will just drop in and let you fire it up. A fair amount of work is involved, including grinding away some of the chassis, and then soldering the decoder leads in place. I wasn't up for the challenge and ended up selling the unit. There used to be a great tutorial on how one guy did it, but it is no longer active. I'll see if I can find it cached somewhere.

    EDIT: I found this tutorial (http://www.nscalestation.com/DZ121AF59.htm) where no modification is needed for the frame..just the existing board and decoder.

    If you're referring to the HO Scale F59PHI, it is stated that it has the Quick Plug DCC technology and, therefore, has some sort of decoder available for it. That I'm not familiar with since I tend to stay with N Scale.
    Regards,
    Dan Zollner - 3DTrains

    https://www.trainsim.com/vbts/image.php?u=57004&type=sigpic&dateline=1198006966

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Amos, Canada
    Posts
    573

    Default RE: HO Scale SD70i

    Oh, i have forget to mention, it's an HO scale

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Staring at a red signal...
    Posts
    1,929

    Default RE: HO Scale SD70i

    For the Athearn Quick-Plug units, I usually use a Digitrax DH123P/PS or DH163P/PS decoder, depending on which one the choo choo store has in stock.

    Austin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •