Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 3D Modeling programs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    .
    Posts
    532

    Default 3D Modeling programs

    I know that AutoDesk/Discreet no longer supports GMAX. I like GMAX. I don't have $3500 for 3D Studio MAX. I tried out freeware SketchUp but I didn't like it. I tried out 3D Canvas but I didn't like it. I wish to create custom content for MSTS. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Acworth, Georgia.
    Posts
    3,755

    Default RE: 3D Modeling programs

    About the only other option is Train Sim Modeler. You can find out about it at this link.

    http://www.abacuspub.com/
    Hawk

    "We could certainly slow the aging process down if it had to work its way through Congress." -Will Rogers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    1,793

    Default RE: 3D Modeling programs

    Keep using Gmax. It still works well, and people around this forum and the 3D trains forum can help you out with it. Just because they won't fix it, doesn't mean it's broken.

    James

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    .
    Posts
    532

    Default RE: 3D Modeling programs

    Conversion Report:

    TSM.s - TrainSim shape file
    TSM_ascii.s - ascii version of shape file
    TSM.sd - TrainSim shape definition file
    Error converting texture file!
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\utils\makeace "C:\Program Files\Abacus\TS Modeler\Textures\concrete3.tga" "concrete3.ace" -zlib
    Converted TSM.s to binary file TSDSb.s
    TSMb.s - Binary version of shape file
    Copied TSMb.s to C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\Routes\nyc01\Shapes\platform01.s
    Copied TSM.sd to C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\Routes\nyc01\Shapes\platform01.sd
    Object exists in nyc01.ref. No change needed.

    I created a box and tried to export it to MSTS but I got an error listed above. How can I fix this problem? The TGA file isn't compressed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Amos, Canada
    Posts
    578

    Default RE: 3D Modeling programs

    You must convert your texture with TGAtool2a...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Amos, Canada
    Posts
    578

    Default RE: 3D Modeling programs

    You can find and download Gmax on www.turbosquid.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,835

    Default RE: 3D Modeling programs

    TSM by default tries to compress the ace file during the conversion process. It is not very good at this. Remove the check against texture compression and the conversion should work.

    Beer is not a matter of life and death. It is much more serious than that.
    mervyn.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •