Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Raildriver Questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Lancaster, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,227

    Default Raildriver Questions

    I'm gonna soon be getting Raildriver, but before I do, I want to know. Is it worth the money? Will only certain trains work with it? Does it work with Steamers?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Williamston, Michigan
    Posts
    14

    Default

    The RailDriver works with a number of games, and will work with all of the included engines in these games. If the game includes steam engines then we will work with them as well.

    For a full listing of what games we are compatible with please check the following page on our web site: http://www.raildriver.com/products/r...#compatibility

    The engines you see most people ask about are custom engines that they have downloaded from on-line and want them to work in the game. Compatibility with these engines depends on various factors.

    For more information on custom engine compatibility for Microsoft Train Simulator please check the following article in the P.I. Engineering Knowledgebase: http://www.piengineering.com/faq/con...aildriver.html

    If you do decide to purchase the RailDriver I think you will enjoy it. It's a lot more fun than using a keyboard.
    Best regards,

    Brandon - P.I. Engineering Technical Support Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Lancaster, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,227

    Smile

    Ah ok then! Route riter, guess I have to download that then casue I got a ton of Amtrak stuff plus the Surfliner too and I wanted to drive em with it(GUYS BEFORE YOU START HOUNDING ME ON PRIACY I GOT IT FROM EBAY!), do you know if the Facing Point Surfliner Sets work with Raildriver?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Williamston, Michigan
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Unfortunately I'm not certain whether or not that expansion content will be compatible.

    The article in our Knowledgebase I previously linked lists a number of places to check for content compatibility, and I know a lot of people have used Mike Simpson's Route-Riter program to add RailDriver support to their expansion route's engine files.

    I would suggest trying to contact the content creator and ask them if they used any of the ENG files that came with MSTS, or if they created their own.

    If they used the MSTS ENG files and didn't modify them then we should work with the engines, but if they created their own or modified one of the MSTS ENG files then you will have to look for compatible ENG files or use Route-Riter to make the files compatible.
    Best regards,

    Brandon - P.I. Engineering Technical Support Specialist

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Lancaster, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,227

    Default

    Seems I"ll have to make em compatible as I can't contact them, they were a Payware product company that sorta made a scam with Surfliner, many payed, few recieved, but as it's payware, it'd be a self-made one, oh well, thanks.

  6. #6

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Komachi View Post
    I'm gonna soon be getting Raildriver, but before I do, I want to know. Is it worth the money?
    Definately YES!

    Once you have had the experience of running your rail-sim software with a RailDriver, you will never go back!

    My RailDriver has revolutionized the hobby for me.

    ~Rick

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Potts Valley Junction, Virginia
    Posts
    844

    Default

    I've never been able to overcome a "studdering" when I use my RailDriver. I've tried things suggested to others with the same problem but none of those helped me.

    I prefer the smooth motion on the screen under keyboard control to that of the jerking that occurs with my RailDriver.

    I rarely use my RailDriver because of these issues, but I intend to keep it in hopes that it will work better on a future OS, MSTS, or computer.

    (On a side note, I've never been able to get TRS2006 to run either. The computer will power off itself before TRS2006 ever gets to a screen that I can use.)

    Windows XP Pro SP2
    Gateway Profile 5
    P4 2.8 GHz
    512 MB RAM
    NVidia GeForce FX 5200
    MSTS with Update 1.2
    Patch 1.7.051922

    "I 'tawt I 'taw a Tessie tat!"

    Conrail Tweety

  8. #8

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by Conrail Tweety View Post
    I've never been able to overcome a "studdering" when I use my RailDriver. I've tried things suggested to others with the same problem but none of those helped me.

    I prefer the smooth motion on the screen under keyboard control to that of the jerking that occurs with my RailDriver.
    That is very interesting... It may be an issue with MSTS? I've been running (heavily) mine on both Trainz 2006-SP1 and Trainz Classics for over a year now. It works smoothly and positively. There is a range in the throttle where it can be difficult to nail positions 4-6, but otherwise it works flawlessly.

    I suspect perhaps the RailDriver performance issue may be more likely related to the following:

    Quote Originally Posted by Conrail Tweety View Post
    I've never been able to get TRS2006 to run either. The computer will power off itself before TRS2006 ever gets to a screen that I can use.
    I hear this frequently on the Auran Trainz forum. I would say with high confidence that this is an issue with both your video card and computer memory...

    A half gig (512mb) of RAM in your PC isn't enough to effectively run Trainz, even if you get it to run at all. To really get the benefit of your P4-2.8, you should be running with no less than 1gb (1024mb) RAM; 2gb (2048mb) prefered. It's kind of like giving an Olympic runner only one shoe and expecting him to be competitive.

    Your nVidia GeForce FX 5200 video card has 128mb memory onboard. That's not nearly enough either, for Trainz and most every other game. Imagine working in a business office located in a broom closet; is cramped, frustrating and highly ineffective. That's what your computer is doing. Your video card will try to borrow (allocate) more memory from the PC; but there isn't any to spare there either. High-end video games want no less than 256mb, and prefer 512mb-1gb (1024mb.)

    I strongly recommend you invest in some memory for your PC and your video card. If you can't add memory to your GeForce, consider a new card. Once done, you will think you just purchased a whole new computer; You will be able to run more programs (like Trainz,) everything will run faster (including Windows), and the video will be smoother (higher frame-rate) and more detailed.

    Good luck, and I hope this was helpful.

    ~Rick

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Potts Valley Junction, Virginia
    Posts
    844

    Default

    Rick,

    I agree with your assessment of my hardware.

    This computer is on loan to me. It is under a lease, but has already been replaced with a newer model in it's first life. I'll get to exchange this computer with something newer when both it's lease is up, and something newer becomes available in the same "loaner "program.

    Without getting into the details about the lease, let's just say it's an extremely cheap way for me to stay a couple of steps behind the current technology.

    I keep good notes about everything I've modified within MSTS, and make monthly backups of my entire MSTS folder to a USB harddrive. So I expect the next transition to be smooth.

    "I 'tawt I 'taw a Tessie tat!"

    Conrail Tweety

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tujunga Calif (Senile City)
    Posts
    5,878

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Conrail Tweety View Post
    I've never been able to overcome a "studdering" when I use my RailDriver. I've tried things suggested to others with the same problem but none of those helped me.

    I prefer the smooth motion on the screen under keyboard control to that of the jerking that occurs with my RailDriver.

    I rarely use my RailDriver because of these issues, but I intend to keep it in hopes that it will work better on a future OS, MSTS, or computer.

    (On a side note, I've never been able to get TRS2006 to run either. The computer will power off itself before TRS2006 ever gets to a screen that I can use.)

    Windows XP Pro SP2
    Gateway Profile 5
    P4 2.8 GHz
    512 MB RAM
    NVidia GeForce FX 5200
    MSTS with Update 1.2
    Patch 1.7.051922
    I have the same studdering problem with my raildriver...running MSTS...it only happens with the cab view, it I switch to the head out view it smooths out..I emailed Raildriver about this and included all my computer specs and video card setting and never received a reply

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •