Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 61

Thread: What are your computer specs?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Clifton Park, NY
    Posts
    1,247

    Default

    Nvidia Gaming:

    ASUS RAMPAGE FORMULA (Intel X48 chipset) BIOS 408
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8600 w/Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
    OCZ Titanium XTC 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
    EVGA GTX 280 FTW (177.92 Drivers)
    Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    2x Western Digital Raptor 74GB (RAID 0) - Vista Ultimate 64 Bit/SP1
    SILVERSTONE 1200Watt DA
    SILVERSTONE TJ09-B



    ATI Gaming:

    ASUS Rampage Extreme BIOS 0501
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 w/Thermalright True Black Ultra-120 eXtreme
    OCZ Intel Extreme Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    ATI 4870X2 (Catalyst 8.8)
    Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    2x Western Digital Raptor 74GB (RAID 0) - Vista Ultimate 64 Bit/SP1
    LIAN LI PC-A70B
    PC Power & Cooling T1KWSR 1000W



    Work Laptop:

    Dell XPS M1710
    Intel Core 2 T7600G
    4GB DDR2 667
    Nvidia 7950GTX (512 Mb) 175.32 Drivers
    X-Fi Xtreme Audio Notebook
    160GB SATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)
    Vista Ultimate/SP1
    Last edited by djt1; 09-05-2008 at 01:39 PM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Bridgeview, Illinois
    Posts
    5,230

    Default


    My Desktop; (Home built on Sept. 2006, Hal-9000)
    Althon 64 6400x2 at 3.2 GHz (dual core) on ASUS SLI Deluxe AM2 motherboard with 3GB of Ram (updated on April 30, 2008).
    Harddrives, One IDE 160 GB as main drive, one 160 GB and one 250 GB (last two are SATA drives).
    Sony DVD/RW
    600 watts power supply with 5 cooling fans
    nVidia BFG 8600 GTS OC at 512 MB of ram running on Dell's 24" widescreen viewing at 1900x1024 32bits color for max resolution.
    OS; Window XP Pro with SP3
    (Previous Motherboard and harddrives;
    Althon 64 3700 at 2.20 GHz, 2GB of Ram
    1 80 GB (main drive), 1 160 GB HD, and 1 250 GB in SATA mode on ASUS Deluxe SLI motherboard Socket 939
    ).

    Also have Seagate 500 GB external Harddrive for storage setup for networking between three PCs.

    My laptop, Voyager;(Purchased on July-2007)
    Dell Inspiron 1501, AMD Athlon 64 x 2 TK-53 (1.7GHz/512KB)
    15.4 inch TrueLife Wide-screenWXGA,
    2GB, DDR2, 533MHz 2 Dimm,
    ATI RADEON Xpress1150 with 256MB HyperMemory
    120GB 5400RPM Hard Drive
    Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic Edition with SP1
    Latest MSTSbin installed on both machines.

    BTW, I sticky this thread so everyone can see it and post here. No PC problems here, please. Start a new thread for that.
    Last edited by BNSF1959; 09-14-2009 at 12:17 PM.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    [URL="https://www.facebook.com/ken.plaza.9"]My Facebook Page
    [/URL][URL="http://jeffreywimberly.proboards.com/"]Rails of the World Forum
    [/URL][URL="http://frankoburns.proboards.com/"]Mophouse-MLTDownloads Froum[/URL]

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    891

    Default

    My Everyday Desktop:

    Cooler Master Cosmos
    Enermax Galaxy 1000W PS
    Asus P5N32-E SLI
    Intel Core2 Quad Q6600
    4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS2 DHX DDR2
    2x 74GB Western Digital Raptor WD740GD in RAID0
    2x Seagate 320GB 7200rpm in RAID0
    XFX Geforce 8800GTX 768MB
    Creative X-Fi Gamer
    Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP1
    Logitech G9 Gaming Mouse
    Logitech G15 (v1) Gaming Keyboard
    Logitech Z-680 5.1 Surround Speakers
    Samsung 213T 21.3" 4:3 LCD



    My Gaming Desktop:

    Cooler Master 690 RC-690-KKN1-GP Black ATX Mid Tower Case
    Corsair TX Series TX750W PS
    Asus P5K Premium
    Intel Core2 Quad Q6600
    4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS2 DHX DDR2
    2x Seagate 320GB 7200rpm in RAID0
    BFG Geforce GTX-280 1GB
    Creative X-Fi Gamer
    Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP1
    Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Mouse
    Bytecc MCK-90BH Mini USB Multimedia Computer Keyboard
    Logitech G51 5.1 Surround Sound Gaming Speakers
    NaturalPoint TrackIR
    Logitech G25 Racing Wheel
    Samsung 245BW 24" 16:9 LCD



    My Notebook:

    HP HDX9494NR
    http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/prodde...est%5Fcookie=1

    Intel Core2 Duo T8100 2.1GHz
    4GB DDR2
    320GB SATA 5400rpm
    Geforce 8800M GTS 512MB
    Altec Lansing Stereo Speakers with HP integrated subwoofer
    Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit SP1
    20.1" 16:9 LCD display
    Ray

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Visalia, California, USA
    Posts
    198

    Default

    Thanks Ken (BNSF1959) for stickying this! I posted this on the Trainz Classics Forum, and I haven't even got ONE reply from them yet! Let's keep this going!
    Last edited by saintjimmy14; 09-08-2008 at 10:24 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada.
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Hi Saintjimmy14,
    You will observe that it is now slowly picking up in the Trainz forum.

    My specs: Antec Nine Hundred casing, Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.0 Ghz), Intel mobo DP35DPM FSB=1333 Mhz, Corsair HX Series 620W, 8 Gb Corsair DDR2-800 RAM, 320 Gb WD Caviar Sata-II 7200RPM, EVGA GTX 260 896Mb, Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer, Saitek Eclipse II keyboard, Logitech G5 mouse, Samsung SyncMaster 932bf at 1280x1024, Windows Vista Home Basic 64-bit with SP1.

    This setup is mainly used for MSTS and TC3
    Cheers
    Gilles

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Visalia, California, USA
    Posts
    198

    Default

    Yes, there are a few more posts than when I checked on Friday. There are some really good and wierd configurations out there when it comes to computers!
    There are some people who make me wish I had built the custom to rival their performance!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Clifton Park, NY
    Posts
    1,247

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by saintjimmy14 View Post
    Yes, there are a few more posts than when I checked on Friday. There are some really good and wierd configurations out there when it comes to computers!
    There are some people who make me wish I had built the custom to rival their performance!
    Now that weíve got the specs listed, why not post screen shots to show what kind of performance people are seeing from this hardware? Even with the highest end hardware, if it isnít setup properly, then itís not going to perform very well.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Visalia, California, USA
    Posts
    198

    Default Great Idea!

    Quote Originally Posted by djt1 View Post
    Now that weíve got the specs listed, why not post screen shots to show what kind of performance people are seeing from this hardware? Even with the highest end hardware, if it isnít setup properly, then itís not going to perform very well.

    That's actually a great idea! I will try to find some time in the next week or so to get into the sim and take some screenies with the FPS turned on (I'm thinking Tehachapi route with SLI equipment & hi-poly coal cars!). I'm sure some other people will be willing to start battling it out for who has more fps!

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Clifton Park, NY
    Posts
    1,247

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by saintjimmy14 View Post
    That's actually a great idea! I will try to find some time in the next week or so to get into the sim and take some screenies with the FPS turned on (I'm thinking Tehachapi route with SLI equipment & hi-poly coal cars!). I'm sure some other people will be willing to start battling it out for who has more fps!

    I was thinking more along the lines of say a default route in KRS where the video card and CPU are getting taxed. In order to get any consistent results youíre going to have to conduct the tests with the same consists on the same routes. Everyone would have to be on the same page as far as game settings, resolution and AA/AF also.

    Another example would be using a pay ware route in MSTS like the Feather River Route with one of the default included consists. Itís not going to do much as far as testing the video cards capability, but it will show what the CPU can do.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Visalia, California, USA
    Posts
    198

    Default

    I don't have KRS, yet (plan on getting it for Christmas). I do have both SLI routes, and plan on getting the WP Feather River for Christmas, also. I have the Tehachapi route with the 3D Trains scenery upgrade, and plan on getting the MLT Cascades Crossing within the next few weeks.

    Here is a list of the non-default routes I have:
    3DTS Tehachapi Pass II
    SLI ATSF Seligman Sub
    SLI BNSF Senic Sub
    Freeware Cajon Pass (without whatever scenery upgrade I keep seeing)
    Conrail Indy 2.0
    Gold Spike Route (Marias Pass & Kootenai/Whitefish 7 combined)
    LGV Med 3.0
    Marias Pass 3.1
    NEC 4.0
    Northwest Line
    PO&N 9
    Rattlesnake Desert v1.0
    SeaView 5
    Tunnel (Eurostar route)

    Those are the routes I have currently, thus the ones I can benchmark on right now. You guys go ahead and try with Rail Sim, I'll catch up at Xmas!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •