Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Freezing and GPU temp

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    .Tillsonburg Ontario Canada
    Posts
    372

    Default Freezing and GPU temp

    Msts has been freezing quite a bit recently, and I just donwloaded a program called Speed fan to check if things were getting bit hot. I notice there was a notification that the CPU was a bit hot, so I looked inside and found there was a lot of dust clogging up the vents going to the processor. After having blown all the dust out, I was still having bad freezups on the game so I checked speed fan again and the GPU is running at 62 Centigrade with no games running. Is this too hot?, could it be my graphics card fan has died on me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Where Standard Gauge is 3 feet between the rails.
    Posts
    10,170

    Default

    Anything with moving parts will wear out.

    I'd suggest replacing the fan, they're not that expensive...

    I replaced one of mine one time with a 486 fan I had left over...

    Robert

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    .Tillsonburg Ontario Canada
    Posts
    372

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rdamurphy View Post
    Anything with moving parts will wear out.

    I'd suggest replacing the fan, they're not that expensive...

    I replaced one of mine one time with a 486 fan I had left over...

    Robert
    I just checked to see if the GPU fan was still working and it was, I blew a mess of dust out of it and it is now running at 59 Centigrade. Guess that's better.

  4. #4

    Default

    59 C is still pretty warm. I would see if you could turn up your fan, or if that doesn't work, I would suggest replacing it.

    Also, make sure that your computer has proper ventilation and is not in a corner etc. where it cannot get good air flow.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    .Tillsonburg Ontario Canada
    Posts
    372

    Default

    It is in well ventilated place, I notice, though, that when I run another game, Tiger Woods Golf 2008, there are no freeze ups, and that game has more intense graphics than MSTS.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hanover Park, Il., USA.
    Posts
    9,100

    Default

    This should probably be in the hardware forum, but...
    Not knowing what type of system you have or if you have made updates to it since installing msts, I would suggest either checking you bios to check/set fan speed (or if you can do that with an external utility), run mprofile.exe in your root msts folder, maybe list your system specs here.
    Also, careful when blowing your fans, as they are quite fragile, and blowing with canned air can blow them with more force and speed than they are designed to operate - especially if you are blowing them in reverse direction!
    If in the market for new fans, I would suggest Antec, Scythe and Thermaltake. Look at Newegg.com??
    BTW, freezeup's can also be caused by memory issues, but that is a whole different ballgame.

    Good luck,

    Neil

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Where Standard Gauge is 3 feet between the rails.
    Posts
    10,170

    Default

    Isn't it funny how something getting too hot can cause something to freeze?

    Robert

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hanover Park, Il., USA.
    Posts
    9,100

    Default Robert

    Lmao!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bailey, Colorado
    Posts
    1,218

    Default

    My CPU is in a confined area without much circulation, but I got an external fan (see below) that sits on top of the CPU and moves air outward. I plug it in on the warmer days, to a USB port.

    http://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-Mo...=245X8VF612BLE

    Don Karch Cripple Creek Railroads Route (CS&CCD, MT, F&CC)
    Rollins Pass/Moffat Tunnel Route V5 (Denver to Craig and Glenwood Springs)
    D&RGW Glenwood Spgs-Grand Jct Route and Colorado Joint Line, Denver-Pueblo
    C&S Narrow Gauge South Park Line/Colorado Midland SG/D&RG NG and SG

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Glendale, Az, USA.
    Posts
    1,033

    Default

    Any time a CPU gets to hot as it goes into what is known as "Thermal shutdown" it will start beeping like crazy. If it does, shut it down immediately if not sooner, how do you do that, hold in the power button for 5 seconds. All newer systems do this, and it does shut it down safely. If You use a power strip or one of those switch boxes, DO NOT TURN IT OFF.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •