Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: New Pc? Bad track quality + bad sound

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico.
    Posts
    427

    Exclamation New Pc? Bad track quality + bad sound

    Hello guys,

    Well i just got a new pc: Intel 2Core Quad Q6600 @ 2.4ghz
    2Gb of RAM DDR2
    Intel DG35EC with X3500 on board video
    Windows XP SP3
    ...i installed MSTS with no problems, im just experimenting bad rail quality and issues with the sound. Well here's an example of my rails:

    http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/l...nk/scrgrb0.jpg

    I don't think it could be the onboard video since this happened once on my Nvidia FX5200 but it fixed somehow.

    Now, the problem with sound is that..i could say it is "inverted".. when i hit the number 4 camera and i see the train is coming..i sound the horn and it sounds like the horn is fading away, when the train have passed i sound the horn again and it sounds like it's coming! i don't know what's going on.

    I really would appreciate your help fellas...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,093

    Default

    I know their gonna get ya for posting this in the wrong forum, but i am sure their are just some settings that are not right. Did you run the mprofile exe and checked all your sliders and check your settings on your video card.
    DT&I may be gone, but never forgotten!
    John

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico.
    Posts
    427

    Default

    yes...i did that. Problem still persists.

  4. #4

    Default Sliders

    Check the setting of the MSTS detail sliders. Options on the start up screen.
    ............Vince ..............
    ...... Author NECv4 .......
    .... LIRR BUILD PHOTOS ....
    .............LIRR VIDEO.............
    ...... Eschew Obsfucation ......

    On the The Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor there is a Tablet. On it is written:
    "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
    the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
    I lift my lamp beside the golden door!"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada.
    Posts
    1,538

    Default

    Hi

    In the "MSTS Sound Design" forum, look for the "Strange Doppler effect and a fix" thread. It might solve your problem...

    GaryG

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,938

    Default

    Check your Anti-Aliasing and Ansiotropic Filtering settings. Control Panel -> Display -> Settings -> Advanced

    Onboard video? hmm.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico.
    Posts
    427

    Default

    Ye...the stuff about the sound got fixed... thank you very much =).
    Still...nothing i can do about the track quality, even though i tried what you guys suggested =(.

    Im gonna look forward to this, tips are welcome please.

    Happy New year foamers !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Metro Washington, DC, USA.
    Posts
    6,244

    Thumbs down

    Quote Originally Posted by julioeddie View Post
    Ye...the stuff about the sound got fixed... thank you very much =).
    Still...nothing i can do about the track quality, even though i tried what you guys suggested =(.

    Im gonna look forward to this, tips are welcome please.

    Happy New year foamers !
    If I understand you correctly, you are using the integrated graphics???

    So far none of them (Integrated graphics) have been reported as having decent quality or performance on MSTS...
    Chuck Schneider
    Chief Cook and Bottle Washer (Virtual CEO)
    North American (Virtual) Locomotive Works

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    31

    Default

    It looks like it's been stated but there is going to be some loss of quality with using onboard graphics card. I'm not sure if this would help you or not but do you know how much memory your graphics card is using? You may be able to up the amount of the shared memory the card is using and see if that helps you out. If your not sure on this you might check with either the manufacture of the motherboard or the pc maker they should have documentation on how to do so.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •