Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Is it worth it?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Concord, NC
    Posts
    1,092

    Default Is it worth it?

    I'm thinking about buying RailDriver, and I'm just wondering if it's worth it. I have RailWorks and Window Vista 32 bit OS.

    I would buy this if I could. lol

    Sean Summer
    CEO of Blue Ridge Mountains Machine works.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA.
    Posts
    622

    Default

    Does NOT work with VISTA.
    Glenn Duba
    Cinnaminson, NJ

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Concord, NC
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    http://www.raildriver.com/products/raildriver.php

    Scroll down to RailDriver™ currently supports:

    It seems it does work with my version of Vista and RailWorks.

    I'm just wondering if I use this if I'll have better control over my locomotives.
    Sean Summer
    CEO of Blue Ridge Mountains Machine works.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA.
    Posts
    14,705

    Cool Much better

    Beats mouse and keyboard. Seeing this I went looking for my review;

    https://www.trainsim.com/vbts/showthread.php?t=197033

    All the pics are gone due to server changes, but looking at the date it's May 2003, so $150 bucks at the time, had them for six years, $25 bucks per year so far. Three computers, Win98SE to WinXP, MSTS to Railsim/Railworks, assorted dogs and a dozen grandkids trying to destroy them and still going strong. Believe me, the first time you pick one up you'll understand the price, this is NOT a cheap plastic toy. In fact you can save money by consolidating, instead of spending money on a set of barbells you could bench press the Raildriver console instead.

  5. #5

    Thumbs up Raildriver? To Be or Not to Be?

    I've had it since it was first shipped, even got a discount for buying early.

    It's worth every penny and like Jim sez, you could save on barbells.

    bandorr2000 [says it] Does NOT work with VISTA.
    Hi Glenn,
    Since I'm always interested in where info like this comes from, where did you hear this or do you have personal experience with it not working on Vista? Just curious, thanks.
    ............Vince ..............
    ...... Author NECv4 .......
    .... LIRR BUILD PHOTOS ....
    .............LIRR VIDEO.............
    ...... Eschew Obsfucation ......

    On the The Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor there is a Tablet. On it is written:
    "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
    the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
    I lift my lamp beside the golden door!"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    NE
    Posts
    719

    Default

    Vince, check this table from the rail driver site!


    http://www.raildriver.com/products/raildriver.php

    In applying Vista to Raildriver the table lists n/a. Make your own judgment.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Marion, Iowa, USA.
    Posts
    334

    Default

    still doesn't help me I use a 64 bit OS, works in RS, but not in RW.

    Haven't tried MSTS yet.

    So I am waiting for 64 bit drivers to work with RW

    OS I am using atm is win 7

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sweetwater, TN, USA
    Posts
    733

    Default

    i LOVE raildriver

    works on Win Vista and Win 7. i use mine all the time for MSTS, Trainz, and Railworks.

  9. #9

    Default

    Justin where did you get your Raildriver?



    Mike

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    5,102

    Default

    The latest Raildriver now reads the character display internally via the USB port instead of requiring a video pass through. That has made it more reliable given the lack of Direct X usage by MSTS. The sub-woofer is now built into the unit. Early models used a pass through video connection and had a separate sub woofer.

    You do have to set it up according to what engines you will be driving.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->