Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: LV and LNE RS2 fix?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dawsonville, GA, USA.
    Posts
    23

    Question LV and LNE RS2 fix?

    Hello everyone. I have tried searching here and on Google. I cannot find how to fix the LV/LNE RS2 by Nathan Haydt (lv_lnes2.zip) used on the L&HR 1940.
    i get an error on line 4. Line 4 looks fine to me in Route Ritter. Also, RR won't make a thumbnail for these. I get a black jpg. Does anyone know how?
    Any help appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Earl
    Last edited by Earl_Buice; 11-10-2009 at 06:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    near Jacksonville, TX
    Posts
    6,208

    Default

    A little more information would really help (such as what needs fixing??).
    Anyway, I am going to try my hand at mind reading here. In the .eng file, is the line something like:
    Mass ( 110.0lbs )
    instead it should be
    Mass ( 110.0t )
    This is a common error in the Early Alco files.
    Otherwise, you will need to describe the problem in order for us to help you fix it??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dawsonville, GA, USA.
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Thanks for trying plainsman but that wasn't it. If I ever get it working that slight change may help later. Mine read mass 155t. I changed to read 155.0t per your example.

    My problem is the file is totally unusable in TS as it comes from the zip. The jpg included is black, no picture. RR won't make a thumbnail either.

    When I try to load TS it gives me the following Error msg:
    Error reading train database file
    File: Trains\Trainset\LV RS2\LNE Alco S2.eng
    also for the other engine in the same folder:
    File:......................\LV RS2\LVAlco S2.eng

    Somwhere along the way, I got a message the .eng file specifies a shape file that is clearly in the right place: LV Alco S2.s

    I really appreciate your help. I've been working on this thing for days when I had a chance.
    Thanks,
    Earl

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,886

    Default

    Hi Earl,

    Never trust the indicated line numbers, always try one before or after. :-)

    The engine and wagon lines needed "" around them.

    Bob, could you do the physics for these please.

    Derek
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Cheers
    Derek

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dawsonville, GA, USA.
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Hi Derek,
    Thanks for the new engine files! That solved the errors. But I still can't get the engine to show up in train Sim. RR won't make a thumbnail.
    Anyone else have any suggestions?
    Thanks,
    Earl

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,886

    Default

    Have you organised the cabview and the sms files?
    Cheers
    Derek

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dawsonville, GA, USA.
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Derek,
    I have the cabvie aliased to my RS3 and sounds to GP38. I'm beginning to think this engine isn't woth all this.
    I really appreciate your help. Do you know of another RS2?
    Thanks,

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,946

    Default

    The file you downloaded is not usable in MSTS as supplied. The reasons Route Riter cannot make a thumbnail is that there are no .ace files for the textures, and the s file is faulty.

    Lehigh Valley RS2, https://www.trainsim.com/vbts/tslib....right&fid=7714
    LNE RS2 , https://www.trainsim.com/vbts/tslib....right&fid=7630
    Beer is not a matter of life or death, it is much more serious than that.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dawsonville, GA, USA.
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Hi Baldwin,
    Thanks much for the files. Now I have a couple of RS 2's I can use on L&HR. You mentioned the S file is corrupt on the one I've been working on. Is there a way to fix it or is there a replacement?
    Thanks,
    Earl

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,946

    Default

    I think that they need a rework in TSM to get something usable. Note that they are S2s not RS2s.
    Beer is not a matter of life or death, it is much more serious than that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->