Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Disappearing Wag files...

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I don't have any activities with those pieces of rolling stock, so that isn't it.

    I downloaded Route Riter, but I confess that I have no idea how to use it (except for changing brake/coupler types, but that doesn't apply to this) for something like this. I got it off of Trainsim here. How do I go about using Route Riter to fix this?

  2. #12

    Exclamation Read the Help Files Before Using Route_Riter

    Quote Originally Posted by 00986994 View Post
    I don't have any activities with those pieces of rolling stock, so that isn't it.

    I downloaded Route Riter, but I confess that I have no idea how to use it (except for changing brake/coupler types, but that doesn't apply to this) for something like this. I got it off of Trainsim here. How do I go about using Route Riter to fix this?
    You download the seperate Help files and do some reading.
    ............Vince ..............
    ...... Author NECv4 .......
    .... LIRR BUILD PHOTOS ....
    .............LIRR VIDEO.............
    ...... Eschew Obsfucation ......

    On the The Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor there is a Tablet. On it is written:
    "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
    the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
    I lift my lamp beside the golden door!"

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quick Update: Now a boxcar (mna3240.zip) is displaying the error message:

    “Error reading train database file:File:Trains\Trainset\mna3240\ESR_BoxCar4.wag" .

    Now that three freight cars have "crashed" this way, I am positive that the problem is related to MSTS, and not the individual cars.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Well, I downloaded the latest version of Route Riter, and the help file. For some reason, the help file won't open. Plus, although I have the latest version of Java, and installed AceIt three times, Route Riter can't find AceIt and claims that my version of Java is out of date and incompatable. Well it would be really easy to get annoyed right now, I know that there has to be some kind of solution out there. Does anyone on the forum have an idea?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Gandangara Estate, Sutherland Shire. N.S.W, Australia.
    Posts
    1,587

    Default This is from memory, I am not on my usual PC

    You need to install Aceit into the Routeriter folder, not Routeriter/Aceit.

    Do you have the latest Java and have you removed older versions of Java?

    See http://raproducts.org/ for Javara to remove older versions.

    Also have you read the readme re manual install of Java classes?
    Daniel - Sydney (wishing I was in Townsville)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,948

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 00986994 View Post
    I don't have any activities with those pieces of rolling stock, so that isn't it.
    First thing is for MSTS to throw out an error message about a missing item in the trainset, there WILL be a consist file in the Consists folder that uses that item.

    Second. Win7 is like Vista where folder and file security is concerned. You as the user have to take full control of the total Train Simulator folders and files. If you dont do that, Windows has a nice little habit of deciding that a file does not belong there and moves it to the virtual store.
    Beer is not a matter of life or death, it is much more serious than that.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,921

    Default

    Further to baldwin's post:-

    Windows explorer cannot search unicode files (MSTS text file format), but I use a utility called Total Commander which does have a unicode search function.
    I use TC to search the contents of the consist files for the errant eng/wag files.

    Derek
    Cheers
    Derek

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Wow! So many ideas! I hardly know where to start! Thanks!

    First off, I in reply to daniellouwrens, I installed AceIt into the Route Riter file. Now that error message is gone, along with the Java error. Now I am getting an error reading:

    "An Error No. 75 Path/File access error occurred while loading the main Route_Riter screen. Check Reports\Startup.log for possible errors."

    Since I was unable to get the help file working, I am not quite sure what this means and how to access the logs.

    Next: I noticed that the missing consists (that do not appear in the MSTS Consist folder) are listed in Route Riter. I am guessing that I can use Route Riter to delete them, but again, with the downloaded help file not working, I don't know how.

    I am guessing that both baldwin and derekmorton are pointing out that some aspect of Windows 7 has rendered all the consists I have made since installing MSTS "invisible". Sorry guys, but I am really not very tech-savvy. Is there any you could "dumb down" your replies? For example, baldwin, what do you mean by "You as the user have to take full control of the total Train Simulator folders "? Does that mean there is a way to view these "missing" files? I am sorry, but I am an admitted computer dunce when it comes to unicode, etc. etc.

    Thanks!!

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Gandangara Estate, Sutherland Shire. N.S.W, Australia.
    Posts
    1,587

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 00986994 View Post
    Wow! So many ideas! I hardly know where to start! Thanks!

    First off, I in reply to daniellouwrens, I installed AceIt into the Route Riter file. Now that error message is gone, along with the Java error. Now I am getting an error reading:

    "An Error No. 75 Path/File access error occurred while loading the main Route_Riter screen. Check Reports\Startup.log for possible errors."

    Since I was unable to get the help file working, I am not quite sure what this means and how to access the logs.
    Hi

    have you downloaded the help file, unzipped and copied it into the Routeriter folder?

    An error 75 usually means a Read/Write error where the file is read only, I have not seen this error on RR startup but perhaps you need to make sure all of the files in the RR folder are not read only. Right click on the RR folder and select properties, uncheck the read only box then select apply/OK.

    The startup log is the the C:\Program Files\Route_Riter\Reports folder.

    cheers

    I see the Wizard of Oz has posted, you can't do better than going right to the top.
    Last edited by daniellouwrens; 05-31-2010 at 06:13 PM.
    Daniel - Sydney (wishing I was in Townsville)

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Penrith, Australia.
    Posts
    2,994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 00986994 View Post
    Wow! So many ideas! I hardly know where to start! Thanks!

    First off, I in reply to daniellouwrens, I installed AceIt into the Route Riter file. Now that error message is gone, along with the Java error. Now I am getting an error reading:

    "An Error No. 75 Path/File access error occurred while loading the main Route_Riter screen. Check Reports\Startup.log for possible errors."

    Since I was unable to get the help file working, I am not quite sure what this means and how to access the logs.

    Next: I noticed that the missing consists (that do not appear in the MSTS Consist folder) are listed in Route Riter. I am guessing that I can use Route Riter to delete them, but again, with the downloaded help file not working, I don't know how.

    I am guessing that both baldwin and derekmorton are pointing out that some aspect of Windows 7 has rendered all the consists I have made since installing MSTS "invisible". Sorry guys, but I am really not very tech-savvy. Is there any you could "dumb down" your replies? For example, baldwin, what do you mean by "You as the user have to take full control of the total Train Simulator folders "? Does that mean there is a way to view these "missing" files? I am sorry, but I am an admitted computer dunce when it comes to unicode, etc. etc.

    Thanks!!
    Hi,
    1. The error 75 in Route_Riter means that you are not running RR as administrator. Try running Route_Riter by right clicking the icon and select 'Run as Administrator'.
    2. As for the help file, this is one of Microsoft's new security functions. See the FAQ item 13 on the Route_Riter FAQ site http://www.rstools.info/faq.html it shows you how to fix this with pictures.

    Mike

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->