Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 105

Thread: My new train project, a American steam locomotive, 2,6,2 Prairie

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Mobile Alabama, United States
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    Does anyone know which paint program puts the textures back into the correct form of CTL for 3D Canvas?

    Would paint shop pro export the textures in CTL so 3D Canvas Pro can open it.


    And here's a picture of my progress with the train's cab, I've got about all the controls into place now, and almost all the gauges that will be the gauges.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by jpetersjr; 10-09-2010 at 02:06 PM.
    Jonathan Burton Peters Jr, Big J
    System of the retro era assets and the old downtown era.

    https://jpetersjr1.wixsite.com/big-j-productions

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Louisville, Kentucky
    Posts
    948

    Default

    Where did you get the idea that your textures need to in ctl (what ever that is) format. Textures are simple jpg or bmp or tga images that you open in the texture tab in 3D Canvas.

    Since you obviously missed my post in the other thread, I am going to repeat it here for you.

    jpetersjr, I have not been replying to your posts because when I replied with advice in the past you did not seem willing or able to take it.

    Here is a link to a post at UKTrainSim with all kinds of information about 3DC tutorials. I recommend that you review as many of these as possible, plus any other tutorials you can find.

    http://forums.uktrainsim.com/viewtop...?f=312&t=99003

    To create the cab controls in a RS/RW engine, you model each control and then animate each control individually. It is complex demanding work to make an accurate cabview.

    From looking at your work so far, I am not even sure that you understand using textures in 3DC. Just coloring the items with the default 3DC colors is not the answer. You must use a paint program, like GIMP or PSP or Photoshop to create a picture called a texture and then you apply that texture to your object in 3DC using the paint tool.

    To start out in 3DC creating an engine is way too ambitious. Even if you can manage to create the engine in 3DC, the exporting an engine into RS/RW is not at all easy.

    I recommend that you step back a bit and try creating very simple scenery items until you understand 3DC and the export process into RS/RW a little better.

    Here is a good starting point: http://railworksamerica.com/forum/vi...php?f=17&t=927 and http://railworksamerica.com/forum/vi...php?f=17&t=933 and http://railworksamerica.com/forum/vi...php?f=17&t=948 and http://railworksamerica.com/forum/vi...hp?f=17&t=1036

    After you have done some work on your own and can demonstrate a basic knowledge of 3DC and the exportation of models into RS/RW, I am sure that many members of this forum would be more interested in helping you make quality models by answering intelligent questions.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Russellville , Ar
    Posts
    1,270

    Default

    No Offense, but i am waiting until he gets into the blueprints & see how far that goes

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Buffalo, Wyoming, United States.
    Posts
    324

    Default

    Not to mention animating the drivers.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Mobile Alabama, United States
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    Here's another engine I just started, a 0,6,0 Prairie Switcher, I also have Paint Shop Pro on the way for the texturing. And then I plan to start the animation's, start figuring those out.

    And I'll also be doing more research for the next few days.

    Sincerely jpetersjr


    Oh, and I'm having some problems with the animations of the 2,6,2 Prairie wheel animations, need to unmerge the rods so I can work on those. After you have merged them, is there a way to go back and unmerge them. That will be the only way I can fix it so I can start animation.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by jpetersjr; 10-10-2010 at 12:31 PM.
    Jonathan Burton Peters Jr, Big J
    System of the retro era assets and the old downtown era.

    https://jpetersjr1.wixsite.com/big-j-productions

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Mobile Alabama, United States
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    Well, after you make your texture color in Paint, how do you get it into 3D Canvas Pro to use it as a texture. I've made a bmp file of a color to use as texture, but 3D Canvas Pro seems to only accept clt files, how do I put them into 3D Canvas Pro to use it.
    Jonathan Burton Peters Jr, Big J
    System of the retro era assets and the old downtown era.

    https://jpetersjr1.wixsite.com/big-j-productions

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Buffalo, Wyoming, United States.
    Posts
    324

    Default

    You dont actually paint the model in 3DC. I believe you must "Unwrap" the model in 3DC, thus mapping specific areas of the model to specific areas and shapes on the texture file. If you look at a texture file it looks like the loco is disassembled and then put together like a puzzle, on a flat plane. Maybe you should look at some textures of existing stock and see how they are "skinned".

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Louisville, Kentucky
    Posts
    948

    Default

    Open up the Material Pallet
    Select the second box from the left
    Select the folder icon (labled select textures)
    Navigate to and open up your image file
    You can now paint from your image file onto your object



    Select Texture.jpg

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Mobile Alabama, United States
    Posts
    1,092

    Cool Texturing almost finish.

    Almost done with the texturing, now, would you be interested in finally driving this on your RW or RS, if so, I still have some questions I could use some help with.

    Here's the picture of what the engine looks like right now.


    Again, this will be an American freeware product, it will also include a 3D Cab.


    Sincerely jpetersjr

    And here is a picture of the tender as well. I'm better at loco's then tenders I must say.

    And here is a picture of what the cab looks like at the moment.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by jpetersjr; 10-11-2010 at 11:52 PM.
    Jonathan Burton Peters Jr, Big J
    System of the retro era assets and the old downtown era.

    https://jpetersjr1.wixsite.com/big-j-productions

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Buffalo, Wyoming, United States.
    Posts
    324

    Default

    Are you making a tender for it?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->