Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: sketchup To Blender problem???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Mobile Alabama, United States
    Posts
    1,092

    Default sketchup To Blender problem???

    Hello,

    When I export a train from sketchup and import it into Blender, the body is appearing, but the wheels and everything else is missing,

    What would be causing this and how would I fix it so the whole locomotive exports into Blender.

    Before I clicked on export from sketchup everything was there, wheels and all.


    Sincerely jpetersjr
    Jonathan Burton Peters Jr, Big J
    System of the retro era assets and the old downtown era.

    https://jpetersjr1.wixsite.com/big-j-productions

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colorful Colorado
    Posts
    1,456

    Default

    I am not sure about why that did not work, but you do want to make sure the wheels and all parts separate from the body are kept separate. Export/Import each moving part into Blender.
    Last edited by Trainguy76; 05-17-2011 at 12:45 AM.
    Brave the forest, brave the stone,
    Brave the icy winds and fire,
    Braved and beat them on my own,
    Yet I'm helpless by the river.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Mobile Alabama, United States
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    After I do that, how do I put it back together?
    Jonathan Burton Peters Jr, Big J
    System of the retro era assets and the old downtown era.

    https://jpetersjr1.wixsite.com/big-j-productions

  4. #4

    Default

    After saving each part imported as a .blend file, load the body. Then press Shift-F1 to open the Load Library. Here you can select the parts and add them to the body. I don't know if the parts will be positioned correctly when loaded, but at least they'll be added and can be positioned manually if needed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Mobile Alabama, United States
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    If they aren't positioned, how do you position them manually by the way.

    Thanks.
    Jonathan Burton Peters Jr, Big J
    System of the retro era assets and the old downtown era.

    https://jpetersjr1.wixsite.com/big-j-productions

  6. #6

    Default

    Select an object by right-clicking it, then press the G key. By pressing G then x,y, or z, you can restrict movement to a particular axis. If your not very familiar with Blender, I would suggest this tutrorial.
    http://www.44090digitalmodels.co.uk/.../blender1.html
    It's for Trainz, but most of the building techniques apply to Railworks(except the naming conventions and the model must be reversed for Railworks). Plus, it will give you a good start on the basic functions of Blender.

    Probably a simpler way of importing your parts would be to save the body as a .blend file and then import the various parts into the scene in whatever format you exported them from Sketchup.
    Last edited by dadiok2; 05-19-2011 at 03:04 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Mobile Alabama, United States
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    Well, I no longer am working on that engine.

    Building some scenery objects for the game, mainly big city items like this as follows.

    Will export this one that I finally finished and then build a 5 story version of it.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jonathan Burton Peters Jr, Big J
    System of the retro era assets and the old downtown era.

    https://jpetersjr1.wixsite.com/big-j-productions

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    662

    Default

    you could always try exporting from GS in .obj mode. hope this helps

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->