Thread: First impressions of Railworks and 4 axle vs 6 axle Diesels?

Default First impressions of Railworks and 4 axle vs 6 axle Diesels?

Hello, fellow Railworkers,

I am new to this program and I love it so far. Although I am from the Netherlands I have always been fascinated by the colourful US railroads, long trains and big engines from the US. Railworks has a nice mix of the familiar and the new.
    So far I have mostly been exploring the Barstow - San Bernadino mountain pass, running a few scenarios to get my grip on US throttle and brake levers.

What surprises me is that is hardly any difference between 4 and 6 axle Diesels running over railjoints or over frogs, they all produce this loud metallic banging noise. There is a distinctive different 'cadence' between 2 and 3 axle trucks in the prototype.
    Cars passing by sound OK to me, it is just the engines that bother me.

Is is possible to recreate this difference or would it make the sim too loud for most of us?

Bar-San is a bit too modern for my taste, has anybody tried to 'backdate' it to the late fifties - mid seventies, the late steam - early to mid Diesel era? I would like to run UP Big Boys, Turbines and GP30's, Santa Fe war bonnets en blue bonnets and perhaps Madam Queen 2-10-4's.

What annoys me most so far is the strange implementation of dynamic braking. I find it very difficult to maintain constant speed downhill by using dynamics alone. Is only the leading engine braking in a lash-up? There is serious slack action, wheelspin (probably wheels sliding IMO) and very erratic braking. It is useless in this implementation and a top priority fix for me.
    Unlike in Trainz I have not broken a knuckle or had a derailment or runaway - yet -.

__o_OOOO_OOOO_oo-BigBoy_

Track joints and driving over switches sounds have always been sub-standard with train simulators.