Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Smokestack USA

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,598

    Default Smokestack USA

    For those who find run-down industrial areas attractive, "IndustRail". Best viewed full screen and HD:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jfimcj5QMRw

  2. #2

    Default

    Interesting route, Phil. What are your computer specs?
    Nick - Creator of the Virtual Railroading Review Show

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,598

    Default

    Hi Nick --

    Intel Dual Core i5, 3.2GHz.

    4GB RAM

    Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 with 1GB RAM

    Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit

    Phil

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA.
    Posts
    14,705

    Default Reskinning the "brakeman" cars


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA.
    Posts
    14,705

    Wink Pssst, don't tell Phil!


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,598

    Default Excellent

    Jim --

    Yes, we need some new motive power.

    Your new arrival means that I can cancel the cleaning of these:





    Phil

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA.
    Posts
    14,705

    Wink Aaaaaaak!

    Why did you go and post those, you ruined everything! Don't you know that stuff is contagious?



    I can see I gotta do something about them bogies, need to be black and greasy. Also missed rusting up the fans on the near ones, the texture mapping on this model is not the worst I've seen but it is sorta here and there. Now that I got the hang of this ARN thing I suppose I should update the SD40s after I finish these, altho I still haven't figured out why such big engines on switching routes.



    I was thinking about using the DDs for helpers, but since you can change locos in a session the best way would be to start the player with a switcher, assemble the train and change to something big, haul it to the destination yard and change to another switcher to break it up. Gonna be something like 15 megs per engine with another 8 megs for the cabview, dunno if I can cut that down much without sacrificing quality.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA.
    Posts
    14,705

    Default

    10 megs per engine, sharpened the coupler and fan TGA files and was able to reduce the size with no blurring. Bogey and cabview uploaded, when those appear 3 locos to follow;






Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •