Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: MSTS to Railworks

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    15

    Default MSTS to Railworks

    Dear Friends,

    Is anybody tried to convert MSTS stuff(Indian Engine models) for Railworks,

    If anybody got success, plz tell me how to do this.

    I have tried so many time to convert the same by using the following tools

    Operating System Windows XP SP3 32bit


    1) Shape File Manager = to Uncompress the .s (MSTS Shape ) files.
    2) ShapeConverter 1.4 = to convert the uncompressed .s file to 3dsMax format,
    3) 3dsMax 2010 demo to edit and reskin the 3d models,
    4) Kuju plugins for 3ds Max to export the models to Railworks format.

    Hence, while Im exporting the 3ds modles to Railworks format( TGPCDX,GeoPcDx, bin) Im getting some error,

    If anybody have some Idea How to solve this problem, please share with me,



    Note: Please dont misuse the MSTS stuff for any commercial purpose

  2. #2

    Default

    MSTS shapes can not be converted easily for use in TS-2013.

    You need their created by whatever graphics editor source files and convert them for use by G-Max which is being used to create TS-2013 shapes and then have the TS-2013 Blueprints Editor to create their TS-2013 GeoPcDx and TgPcDx files.

    All these MSTS shapes source files are subject to the copyright of their creators and you can not use them without their written permission !

    O t t o

  3. #3

    Default

    Its been said many times before (needs to be stickied in order to end the discussion) that objects imported from MSTS are graphically inferior to the offerings in Railworks. They have to have at minimum details added and their shaders reworked. Trust me from experience, it's not worth the effort. Using them as a template is fine, but in the end you will find that by the time you finish upgrading the object, you've built an entirely new asset anyway.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheCyclopath View Post
    Its been said many times before (needs to be stickied in order to end the discussion).
    Problem is that most do not read the "Stickies" !

    O t t o


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Another Planet
    Posts
    8,623

    Default

    Problem is, is that there are too many stickies.
    3DTrains - Home of the Feather River and Sherman Hill routes for MSTS

    Signature

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    263

    Default

    I'd suggest you first test the RW export process by 1) creating a simple shape in 3DS Max and exporting to RW 2) exporting your rolling stock as a scenery item using a scenery blueprint, which will prove the model is ok.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA.
    Posts
    14,705

    Default Stuck on sticky stickies

    I don't think it comes up often enough to justify a sticky, it's a once in a while question that's mainly answered by looking through old railsim archives. The answer is yes it can be done, there are several examples of MSTS trainsets converted for railsim in the file library. The conversion process is difficult and complicated, and the end result is you do nearly as much work as creating from scratch to end up with a mediocre model.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sniper297 View Post
    I don't think it comes up often enough to justify a sticky, it's a once in a while question that's mainly answered by looking through old railsim archives. The answer is yes it can be done, there are several examples of MSTS trainsets converted for railsim in the file library. The conversion process is difficult and complicated, and the end result is you do nearly as much work as creating from scratch to end up with a mediocre model.
    Marc Nelson of 3DTrains has converted his MSTS F7 Santa Fe Warbonnet and other rolling stock for use in Railworks but he has the expertise and graphics software to do it !

    O t t o


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    263

    Default

    If you have the original geometry and texture files for the MSTS model, as I'm sure Marc had, then producing an RW version is quite straightforward. If like the OP you are attempting to convert from the MSTS files then it's a bit more complicated.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,442

    Default

    Plus the heady issue of copyright. The odd freeware texture or model might get a blind eye turned to it (though converting even freeware without permission is still not the right thing to do), but the reason why we haven't seen this type of tool in the public domain is that inevitably some anarchist or bootlegger will decide to have a go at converting a whole load of payware.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •