Thread: Experimental releases

Default Experimental releases

what happened with these? The last was released 2 weeks ago (jan 5th). I know everyone can compile the latest from svn but currently i don't have VS installed.

Some are still deer hunting, some are cutting firewood, and some of us are fishing the New Jersey beaches for stripers. And there those of us who are working on equipment to manage our lands in the spring.

Quote Originally Posted by kox View Post
    what happened with these? The last was released 2 weeks ago (jan 5th). I know everyone can compile the latest from svn but currently i don't have VS installed.
    We're fortunate to get the experimental releases at all, as opposed to waiting for a version release every 10-18 months...

Where Standard Gauge is 3 feet between the rails.

Quote Originally Posted by OTTODAD View Post

I have been a programmer for over 30 years and could not do it, knowing nothing about the ORTS code and compiler used for it.

O t t o

Seriously? OR is written in C#.net, and is compiled by Visual Studio.net. Which kox refers to as "VS." Anyone can download the Source Code, look at it, even modify it, and even compile it in VS.

Robert
    Last edited by rdamurphy; 01-19-2013 at 09:20 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by kox View Post
    The experimental releases are on hold for a few weeks because we've just integrated a massive signalling / dispatcher update and we wanted to work out the major kinks before letting you guys loose on it. Don't worry, the experimental builds will be back soon.
    James Ross
    Open Rails Management Team

Looking forward to the update, James.

Quote Originally Posted by seagoon View Post
    And that's in addition to your full-time career as an accountant and also being a pilot?
    Astounding!!!

Where did you find the time?

BK
    Off topic, but I know lots of pilots and they all had a second life outside the cockpit.