Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Look Who Likes Run8!

Default Look Who Likes Run8!

For those who can't or won't read this at the Run8America forum:

I recently retired from GE where I was a design engineer for the GEVO. Our locomotive assembly workforce is unionized and tended to have the highest seniority with long vacation benefits. By late November each year many had taken the rest of the year off. But, that was also the rush season to get the last of the "shippers" out the door before the end of the financial year.

As a consequence, a number of us salaried workers were trained to build and test locomotives on weekends and over the Christmas holidays. I probably put in over 500 hours in the shops (loading software, testing brakes, load-testing the diesel engine, etc.) and another 240 hours running locomotives on the test track.

Since I have experience with the real thing, my expectations for simulation are rather high ... no fanboy here.

The accuracy of the models in Run 8 are of a very high level, as well as the sounds. The MFD's (they are called SDIS's or "smart displays" on the GEVO) are nothing short of amazing. The only things missing are a few softkeys that would have been used for passwords to get to the L2 (maintainer) and L3 (design and software engineer) screens, which wouldn't be meaningful to the average simmer anyway. We had over 50 people upstairs in my building writing code for the smart displays. The performance here in the sim is remarkable, given the small team that R8 must have.

Little things like the compressor speed bar graph on the Locomotive monitor page when the compressor kicks in (the sound is also accurate), the slow "time to load" (it really does take 40-50 seconds to reach full power), the breakers and switches to prepare the loco for use are all very much as I remember them. I like the careless positioning of the sun visors too .... they were always wobbly and hanging at odd angles.