Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting out in Run 8

Default Starting out in Run 8

I'm a noob to Run 8 - so new that I bought the program months ago but still have not installed it. Is there a place or MP session that you can join, kind of a kindergarten, for folks like me that want to learn to run a train but don't want to wreck the session of an experienced group?

http://www.run8america.com/forum/index.php

The learning curve really isn't as steep as people make it out to be. If you are familiar with the basics of train handling and signals, you will be fine.

The only way to truly "wreck" a session is to get by a stop signal and hit another train. To avoid this, excersize some common sense.
    When you see a signal indication that is not favourable, SLOW DOWN. There is no race, and no extra kudos will be given to those that charge signals.

Feel free to come by my sessions any time. The next one I'm having is Sunday 8pm to 4am EDT. The numbers are fairly low these days so you'll get plenty of personal attention.

You can go into the forum listed above, but I would start out first at the support sections on their main website at Run8 Studios and go to the support section. You should try to install it first and follow the tutorial videos. If you have any questions feel free to ask them here or in private and I'd be glad to help.

There are plenty of great people on the forums listed, but they are going to want you to use the search to find topics before asking questions. If the search doesn't show anything I would mention it, then ask your question. But it can get a little "snarky" at times as some people like to say (I can use that term because I'm not a member of those forums). Most are nice enough though to try to help. You will always get your help here as well.

Thanks

Sean

Quote Originally Posted by TrainMan_112 View Post
    The only way to truly "wreck" a session is to get by a stop signal and hit another train.