Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Is Run8 Core Software Built into Route

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    MP 146.2 Roseville Div/Roseville Sub (Donner Route) UP, Cape Horn, Colfax, CA
    Posts
    14

    Default Is Run8 Core Software Built into Route

    I saw where you can purchase the Needles or Mojave Routes for $40. Do I need to buy the Sim separately from the Needles route, or does the Route include everything to operate the sim?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,596

    Default

    Mojave has the core software, so if you want Needles you would buy both.

    Thanks

    Sean

  3. #3

    Default

    The Mojave route includes the core program. Needles requires it.

  4. #4

    Default

    So, if I want Needles, I have to buy Mohave?...

  5. #5

    Default

    As it stands now, that is correct. Mojave includes the core simulator. Needles is an add-on route. Once you have Needles, you don't have to run Mojave, but you will have it. For $80, I believe it's worth the money to buy the sim and then have two great routes.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mason, Ohio
    Posts
    375

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eolesen View Post
    So, if I want Needles, I have to buy Mohave?...
    Yes
    Intel i5 6600K 3.5Ghz / GIGABYTE Z170X-UD5 / Hyper X Fury 16GB DDR4 2133Mhz Ram / Samsung 850 500GB SSD / Gigabyte GTX 1070 8GB / Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO / CX750M 750 Watt / Windows 10 64 Bit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eolesen View Post
    So, if I want Needles, I have to buy Mohave?...
    Think of it like any other train sim. When you buy the program, it contains at least one route. That's what Mojave is, the core program with the Mojave route. It wouldn't do you any good to have a train sim with no route. Needles is an addon route to the Run8 sim just like the Autoracks, Piggybacks and Amtrak are addons to the rolling stock.
    Doug B.
    Eugene, Oregon, USA - Pacific Standard Time ( - 8:00 UTC )
    3.4 ghz Intel i7-3770 quad core processor, 8 gigs RAM, 2 gig AMD Radeon HD 7850

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dab1068 View Post
    Think of it like any other train sim.
    But I thought it wasn't supposed to be like any other train sim....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,596

    Default

    yeah in more ways than 1

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eolesen View Post
    But I thought it wasn't supposed to be like any other train sim....
    When it comes to purchasing, it's just like every other sim, you pay them, you get to play. It's the play that excels in Run8 beyond that of the other train sims. I have not played them all but the ones I have played never made me feel like it's all on the line, do it right or you fail!

    Think of it like this then, you are paying $40 for the Run8 platform and you get the Mojave sub for free. But then you have to buy the Needles sub if you want to run on it.
    Doug B.
    Eugene, Oregon, USA - Pacific Standard Time ( - 8:00 UTC )
    3.4 ghz Intel i7-3770 quad core processor, 8 gigs RAM, 2 gig AMD Radeon HD 7850

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->