Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Train-maker-upper?

Question Train-maker-upper?

I have tried and tried again to do Run8's new consist editor, but I don't know how to open it... Is there a key that I press or something? Help?

Press F4 to set the windowed mode, and then CTRL+F1, consist builder screen is NOT visible in full screen mode.
    Last edited by MachinistBrazil; 07-09-2013 at 10:19 PM.

Then Shift+F12, move to a point where your view is centered in the web of the right rail. The consist should appear on the track behind you, select and save. If it doesn't appear, move forward or backward along the track to find a track node that will support the TMU.

I also I have problems. I can not put a train on the track.
    Help please

There's got to be a trick to do this.

I'm new to train maker too. I think to you need to stand on the left or right side of the rail. Now the locomotive or the train set will not be placed on the track the way you want it, you have to becareful, even if you make a mistake you can delete it. Not a serious problem. Face a direction you want to choose, click Place Train on Track and it should appear. Hope that helps!
    Last edited by csx2057; 08-09-2013 at 10:40 AM.

Tricks are:

As Kent said, stand on the right hand rail, hit Shift+F12 to select the free-flight view, and then use QWEASD Keys to position yourself (eyes view) as in this pic:
    TMU view.jpg

If you got the message "No node found" it means the spawn thingy failed, otherwise (no message) your train was spawned anywhere close to you (usually behind you, sometimes in the track beside you etc.), look around to check it out.

Sometimes train is placed out of rails, especially in curves, however when you click on it to take control it will re-spawn over the tracks correctly as supposed to be. Avoid to place trains close to switches, it's harder to the program find a node in this case.