Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Speedometer flickers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    CSX Fremont Secondary
    Posts
    266

    Default Speedometer flickers

    Hi all, when I throttle up or down, the speedometer (see below) starts to flicker. Is this a bug or something?


  2. #2

    Default

    Maybe, but it also could be realism. I personally like it to see it. Sometimes it seems to coincide with wheel slip.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    312

    Default

    Do you notice when this happens if the frame rate dips. Brian

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,244

    Default

    What actually flickers?
    Is it the whole speedo, the full digital readout, or the figures after the decimal point?

    Bruce
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    CSX Fremont Secondary
    Posts
    266

    Default

    The full digital readout and the figures after the decimal point <-- This is whenever I throttle up or down

    At times also when the fps dips.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    312

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by csx8851 View Post
    The full digital readout and the figures after the decimal point <-- This is whenever I throttle up or down

    At times also when the fps dips.
    I wouldnt worry about it.The same thing happens to me at times when I am running scenery-intensive routes with many AI or loose consists.Your computer{like mine}might be a little underpowered. Brian

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,244

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by csx8851 View Post
    The full digital readout and the figures after the decimal point <-- This is whenever I throttle up or down

    At times also when the fps dips.
    Okay.
    Yep...I experience that too on most digital displays and just put it down to the possibility that the program is trying to update the decimal display on a very frequent basis.

    Either that or it's a loose connection in the speedo.

    Bruce
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    312

    Default

    Also,one more thing.Do you get a wheel slip alarm and warning message when this happens ? Brian

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    CSX Fremont Secondary
    Posts
    266

    Default

    I get wheelslip EVERY time I go from Idle to N1 when all my air is released....not related to the speedo flicker.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •