Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: DDS vs Ace

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by James Collins View Post
    I have created the dds from an ace and I have created the dds from the original picture and saving direct to a dds using dxtbmp.
    Have you tried not generating mipmaps or using other tools to create the DDS? Paint.NET is known to generate bad mipmap data in our own testing of this option, and your first picture looks kinda similar to the corruption/effect caused by Paint.NET's issue.
    James Ross
    Open Rails Management Team

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Charleston, WV
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by twpol View Post
    Have you tried not generating mipmaps or using other tools to create the DDS? Paint.NET is known to generate bad mipmap data in our own testing of this option, and your first picture looks kinda similar to the corruption/effect caused by Paint.NET's issue.
    I use paint shop pro and have only used dxtbmp to create dds files so far. Something is off for sure, but it could be a fault with dxtbmp, I will try other tools as well and see if that changes anything.


    In dxtbmp what compression method did you use? If the original .ace is not using a 1 bit alpha channel (which is what it looks like in your screen caps) using DXT3 instead of DXT5 will make a difference in the result. The thinning out will most likely be certain levels of alpha being tossed out during the compression with dxtbmp.
    I have been saving them as DXT5. I will try DXT3 and get back with the results.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,257

    Default

    .dds? .ace?
    The only matter of consequence is which one uses the least computing power?
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Charleston, WV
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Ok, so after trying a few tools and compression methods, it seems DXT1 works just fine in DXTBmp and convimx. DXT3 and DXT5, both looking the same as my previous post, no matter which program I used.

    Here are both programs using DXT1. All tree textures are dds in all shots.









    There are differences between the two programs and the shots above and I guess it comes down to preference at this point, but the main issue of corruption as James put it is gone.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Where Standard Gauge is 3 feet between the rails.
    Posts
    10,170

    Default

    Great research and documentation. Definitely going to be helpful going forward with questions about moving away from the .ace format!

    Thanks for your hard work: I'm going to bookmark this thread...

    Perhaps we should make it a sticky? Mods?

    Robert

  6. #16

    Default

    stuck.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,257

    Default

    So which one requires the most processing power.... .ace or .dds?
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,261

    Default

    The thinner stuff is going to require more proper terrtex transitions to hide the glaring seams.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seagoon View Post
    So which one requires the most processing power.... .ace or .dds?
    There shouldn't be any real differences once loaded; both ACE and DDS support the RGBA (uncompressed so takes the most GPU RAM), DXT1, DXT3 and DXT5 (varying styles of compression that support different levels of alpha, all stored compressed in GPU RAM) formats.

    When it comes to loading, ACE files using RGBA data have the additional option of being compressed (with zlib). This makes the file on disk smaller at the cost of some CPU time to decompress it during loading. The zlib compression has no effect on the GPU RAM usage or performance.
    James Ross
    Open Rails Management Team

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,257

    Default

    Thanks, James.
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •