Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Rogers Pass on Open Rails

  1. #1

    Question Rogers Pass on Open Rails

    Greetings,

    I've recently been running in Open Rails and have come to notice that there were some issues when it came to running MLT's Rogers Pass. I had originally tried loading up a stock activity with the route (all original MLT equipment from the route) and noticed that when it completed loading the game would completely freeze. I went through some trial-and-error in explore on the route and noticed that if I was using either the default MSTS equipment or SLI equipment in explore I would't have an issue loading the sim, but if I were to use the MLT Rogers Pass equipment in explore the game would freeze trying to load the route. When it freezes I get an error message, which I haven't even begun trying to decipher. I'm hoping one of the developers can give an explanation on it which I can understand, link is below.

    I'm not sure if this is a stock issue or just a bug in OR, because the equipment loads up in MSTS perfectly fine. Any info to help find a culprit would be greatly appreciated!

    Patrick

    Error message I get: https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.n...d7a198686085d2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    1,951

    Default

    No problem here with MLT's Rogers Pass, in any of the versions of OR, currently running X2739 and just happened to have completed an activity. (Eastbound Sulphur). No problem in explore, activities, or with any of the rolling stock.

    Attach the OR log, a text file found on your desktop, that will help people figure out what's going on.
    Also, what version were you running when this happened?

    The "SystemArguementOutOfRangeException: Index was out of range" is not uncommon, with the OR text log someone should be able to figure it out.
    Cheers, R. Steele [Gerry] It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,893

    Default

    X2602 is quite old in the OR timeline. The problem you are showing is in the 3DViewer. Current version is 2744 and many bugs have been fixed between then and now. Go to the Open Rails website download page http://openrails.org/download/program/ and download /install the Supporters version on the right side of the page. I have never had any problems with the Rogers Pass so far though.
    Beer is not a matter of life or death, it is much more serious than that.

  4. #4

    Default

    I'm running version X2602 which is (I believe) the installer that is on the Open Rails homepage, as shown in the log screenshots below. What in the log would designate these issues?

    My OpenRails Log:
    Part 1: https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.n...edb191ea92845d
    Part 2: https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.n...8aac5a23582950
    Part 3: https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.n...8ac9664c2d1a4c
    Part 4: https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.n...0d10669bbcc728

    Patrick

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,893

    Default

    If you were to do as I suggested that will give you version X2739 which is much more recent than your current version. Do that and try it. If you still get the same then it can sensibly be looked at.

    I have just tried the path and consist that you used and it loads here, zero problems. Comparing your load size with mine, the activity is not completed on load
    Mine
    Loader: Actual = 57,432,515 bytes
    Loader: Difference = 57,432,515 bytes (Infinity)

    Yours
    Loader: Actual = 47,537,457 bytes
    Loader: Difference = 47,537,457 bytes (Infinity)
    Beer is not a matter of life or death, it is much more serious than that.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    1,951

    Default

    There was a glitch (or something?) that caused that error in X2604 with Rogers Pass, I also get it.
    ( Just downloaded 2604 from James Ross's Automatic Builds link and installed it.)

    GoTo >>> http://openrails.org/download/program/ and download "Supporters Download", it is the newest release.
    Cheers, R. Steele [Gerry] It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Rocky Coast of Maine
    Posts
    233

    Default Run 8 Issue

    Running Open Rails (X2738)in Win 7. Rogers Pass and most other MLT routes run fine except for throttle settings. Can not get to "Run 8" (N8) using RailDriver(MSTS keyboard mode works fine). Can only squeeze N6 out of it. RD calibrates just fine. Read somewhere(?) that code for RD in Open Rails does a divide by 8 instead of divide by 9(or was it the other way round ?). Need a WAP (work around plan).
    Last edited by woodfyr; 01-14-2015 at 02:27 PM. Reason: left out info

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    1,951

    Default

    I get "8" using RailDriver on all my installs. Currently using OR X2778. You may have to recalibrate your Raildriver. Also the unit, if it is older or unused, could be worn and not as responsive as when new. (That was the case in some posts I read) You'll have to search Raildriver Topics and OR --- lot's of information about this. Try here and at Elvas.

    If you're having RailDriver throttle problems within OR perhaps you should start a thread, probably get some response.
    Last edited by R. Steele; 01-14-2015 at 02:50 PM.
    Cheers, R. Steele [Gerry] It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •