Page 25 of 26 FirstFirst ... 15 23 24 25 26 LastLast
Results 241 to 250 of 258

Thread: MSTS on Windows 10 - Confirmed

  1. #241
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Launceston, Cornwall, U.K..
    Posts
    304

    Default

    This is a problem I had when I first got MSTS (back in 2004). There are a number of versions of the 'train.exe' file, the one I had on a genuine Microsoft install disc was too new! The version you need is dated 11th December 2001 and has a size of 3997 kb. I believe that this is the one in the 'version 1.4' update to the original. If you do not have the correct version, no version of BIN will install.

    I haven't checked, but I believe the update is available from the the steam4me website.
    onen hag oll!

  2. #242
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Elliot Lake,Ontario
    Posts
    33

    Default

    I've read most of the posts on the Forum over the past few months and found a lot of pros and cons about operating systems and so I decided to pretend I was back in 2007 when I first purchased MSTS and never had any problems with it.
    Up until a month ago I was using Win 8, then I decided to upgrade to Win 10, that was a mistake, so I returned to Win 8, my PC was getting on in years so I decided it was time for a new PC but I didn't want Win 10. So I bought a new PC using Win 7, 3.1 ghz, 16 gig Ram. Nvidia video card. I also had a CD-DVD player installed so that I could install my Maple Leaf Tracks Routes. I only use this PC for MSTS and FS 2014 only. I do not go on the internet with it. I use my laptop to write to this Forum and to download Routes, Locomotives and Freight cars.
    Wally, Elliot Lake, Ontario

  3. #243

    Default

    Reading this entire thread, [deleted]
    Last edited by eolesen; 04-19-2017 at 12:47 PM.

  4. #244

    Default

    Fixed your post, PXSE.

    We're supposed to be a friendly community here. That wasn't friendly.
    Packerland Dev Release 2013-06 now available on Dropbox -- PM me for access...

  5. #245
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Knoxville, Tennessee, USA.
    Posts
    187

    Default

    Baldwin....you are very correct sir...I uploaded it from the Ubisoft/MSTS TrainSim CDs...
    E.T.& W.N.C./Linville River Railroad "The Doe River Route"
    Bill Stevens - - Knoxville, TN

  6. #246
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA.
    Posts
    596

    Default

    "MSTS absolutely won't launch in Win 10 unless you run it as Administrator. And install the last DirectX 9 Redistributable package from Microsoft -- https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down...s.aspx?id=8109"

    When I attempt to run this version on my Win 10 laptop I get a message to the effect that it will only run on systems using XP, Win 7, etc.. operating systems. Can't install this DirectX version on this Win 10 laptop. Am I doing something wrong? Thank you.
    Glenn Duba
    Cinnaminson, NJ

  7. #247
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    1,383

    Default

    Hi Glenn,
    Can't install this DirectX version on this Win 10 laptop. Am I doing something wrong?
    Sorry, I can't answer that, but I've installed DirectX 9.0c on to two separate Windows 10 desktops without any problem. Make sure you use the off-line installer - here : https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down...s.aspx?id=8109 and not the web installer.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  8. #248
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pacific Time
    Posts
    682

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slipperman View Post
    Hi Glenn,

    Sorry, I can't answer that, but I've installed DirectX 9.0c on to two separate Windows 10 desktops without any problem. Make sure you use the off-line installer - here : https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down...s.aspx?id=8109 and not the web installer.

    Cheers,
    Ged
    The OFFLINE (full) installer is the key. The web installer doesn't work in Windows 10. That may be what's going wrong.

  9. #249
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA.
    Posts
    596

    Default

    GED, thank you. Have the file, where do I install it to?
    Glenn Duba
    Cinnaminson, NJ

  10. #250
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Eltham, Australia.
    Posts
    6,220

    Default

    Hi Glenn,

    You just run the installer, it will install where it must go, its all system stuff.
    Cheers
    Derek

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •