Page 41 of 44 FirstFirst ... 313940414243 ... LastLast
Results 401 to 410 of 440

Thread: New Route Editor

  1. #401
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hanover Park, Il., USA.
    Posts
    8,732

    Default

    Great idea, Rick. Maybe a "hopeful" for some future release of OR.
    I've never used the forest files before because of the square/rectangle shape. Being able to custom draw the shape for any particular area you are working on would indeed be a game changer!
    Neil

    Here at home, in the railroad mayhem capital of the world.

  2. #402
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Poteau, OK, USA.
    Posts
    4,594

    Default

    Thanks Rick! NOW I understand what you were saying.

    Yup, a "lasso" feature would be good for forest placement, but even before I read Goku's reply, I foresaw issues with the way both MSTS and OR reads and implements the "forest" feature.

    Ah well, it is what it is.

  3. #403
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wellesley Hills, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    722

    Default

    I've two questions regarding TSRE, both related to my work on track shape substitution and validation through the editor.

    1. Is it possible to place the cursor on a given point and direction on a route's track open in TSRE, and then with a keystroke or push of a button have it follow the route in the direction the cursor was heading automatically. In other words, freeing you from having to both push the up arrow button to move forward and the mouse to position the cursor as the route wanders. When you are checking a route of over 100 miles as I am doing now this would save a LOT of time and hand cramps.

    2. I know about using the Select "R" to rotate objects on their pivot point, but what if you want to move the object up or down with a user-defined pivot point? For example, I'd want to bury tracks in yards so that just the railheads are showing; ditto for concrete docks, etc.

    Thanks for your thoughts!

    Regards,

    Dave

  4. #404
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB, CA.
    Posts
    121

    Default

    Dave:

    1- I don't think so, unless it's one of Goku's 'hidden' functions. At least, I haven't tripped over it accidentally while editing yet.
    2- Wouldn't it be easier to just raise the terrain slightly to cover the roadbed and leave the rails exposed than muck about 'sinking' the track by the same amount? As for concrete docks, etc., do you really need to rotate them, or just raise and lower them? Select object and use the mouse wheel to raise/lower, +CTRL for finer adjustment.

    Bob

  5. #405
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wellesley Hills, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tooltroll View Post
    Dave:

    1- I don't think so, unless it's one of Goku's 'hidden' functions. At least, I haven't tripped over it accidentally while editing yet.
    2- Wouldn't it be easier to just raise the terrain slightly to cover the roadbed and leave the rails exposed than muck about 'sinking' the track by the same amount? As for concrete docks, etc., do you really need to rotate them, or just raise and lower them? Select object and use the mouse wheel to raise/lower, +CTRL for finer adjustment.

    Bob
    Hi Bob,

    Thanks for your reply. I should have been clearer about item no. 2, in that what I was looking for was the ability to move a track object up and down, in other words in the horizontal plane, without using the "R" rotate function. The problem with the R function is that it will move an object but does so on the pivot point, and the pivot point of tracks and roads is at one end.

    I did try moving the terrain up, in this case the docks on SLI's BNSF Scenic Sub v.2, but when I did so the concrete turned to grass! So I thought that "burying" the track a bit would be a better shot.

    Does the mouse wheel move tracks as well as other objects up and down? If so, I need to buy a new mouse: my current one, an old Logitech gaming mouse, had the wheel die on me a while back.

    Dave

  6. #406
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB, CA.
    Posts
    121

    Default

    Dave,

    Yes, just about everything responds the same to movement/rotation commands; Track, buildings, bridges, you name it. If you don't have a wheel, for now you can use the 'T' function to enter translate mode (works the same as 'R' for rotate mode, just select the item and hit T instead of R.) and use the numpad or other keys to nudge things around: http://koniec.org/tsre5/recontrols.html (I think numpad 3 & 9 are the up/down. Try it and see.)

  7. #407
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wellesley Hills, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tooltroll View Post
    Dave,

    Yes, just about everything responds the same to movement/rotation commands; Track, buildings, bridges, you name it. If you don't have a wheel, for now you can use the 'T' function to enter translate mode (works the same as 'R' for rotate mode, just select the item and hit T instead of R.) and use the numpad or other keys to nudge things around: http://koniec.org/tsre5/recontrols.html (I think numpad 3 & 9 are the up/down. Try it and see.)
    Hi Bob,

    Again, thanks very much. I had read a couple of Goku's pages, but not that one. Even if I had I'm not sure I would have guessed that "translate" meant move and object. But now, thanks to you, I know!

    I'd been using CTRL + numpad 8 & 2 to move pivot points up and down; looks like I can do the same with "T" and just about all the other commands as well. That is, until I get out of cheapo mode and buy myself a new mouse

    Dave

  8. #408

    Default

    Hi Dave,
    Went to Best Buy about two months back . . . a USB 3 button plus wheel mouse was $9.00! I bought two.

    regards,
    ............Vince ..............
    ...... Author NECv4 .......
    .... LIRR BUILD PHOTOS ....
    .............LIRR VIDEO.............
    ...... Eschew Obsfucation ......

    On the The Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor there is a Tablet. On it is written:
    "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
    the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
    I lift my lamp beside the golden door!"

  9. #409
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wellesley Hills, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vince View Post
    Hi Dave,
    Went to Best Buy about two months back . . . a USB 3 button plus wheel mouse was $9.00! I bought two.

    regards,
    Vince, you shamed even as an irascible a skinflint such as myself into buying a new mouse. I wanted one that had that "ratcheted" feel to the mouse wheel and found a Corsair mouse for $15 at a local Best Buy.

    I couldn't believe how much I've been missing these last few skinflinty years ...

    Cheers,

    David

  10. #410

    Default

    David,
    We tend to hold what we know dear. There is no shame.

    regards,
    ............Vince ..............
    ...... Author NECv4 .......
    .... LIRR BUILD PHOTOS ....
    .............LIRR VIDEO.............
    ...... Eschew Obsfucation ......

    On the The Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor there is a Tablet. On it is written:
    "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
    the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
    I lift my lamp beside the golden door!"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •