Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Trying to run KT4D tram in OR

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    5

    Default Trying to run KT4D tram in OR

    Hello everyone.

    You all are gonna think I'm crazy with this, but back in 2010, I always been willing to run a German KT4D tram on MSTS, and my goodness it ran such a very awesome pace, it's like running back to my teen days and I always wanted to run KT4D tram on the Koln tram route.

    So now on OR, the route itself was ok, but the bad news was that, the trams itself is not working. It is a single throttle-brake combined powered tram (as usual), and it's running in MSTS Bin, and frankly it loaded correctly without any issues, so that is good. The only problem is TRYING to run the tram. Apparently, when I moved the throttle a bit, it had moved for a moment but it stopped completely in just a split second. I tried editing the ENG file to no avail. I looked in the logs, I did find some warnings in the Eng file.

    Code:
    Warning: When expecting a number, we found a ) marker. Using the default 1 in C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\trains\trainset\BTW-Kt4D_521+522\BTW-Kt4D_522A.eng:line 7
    
    Warning: Found a suffix '*40kw' which could not be parsed as a Power unit in C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\trains\trainset\BTW-Kt4D_521+522\BTW-Kt4D_522A.eng:line 1098
    
    Warning: When expecting a number, we found a ) marker. Using the default 1 in C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\trains\trainset\BTW-Kt4D_521+522\BTW-Kt4D_522B.eng:line 7
    
    Warning: Found a suffix '*40kw' which could not be parsed as a Power unit in C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\trains\trainset\BTW-Kt4D_521+522\BTW-Kt4D_522B.eng:line 713
    I guess I suppose that could be the cuprit? I hope to hear back from the developers soon. If wanting to know what tram I'm trying to run, it is http://forum.trainz-multiplayer.de/d...rsbetriebe-rar

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    596

    Default

    For one, what OS are you using? If it's Win 7 or later, get your install out of Program Files straight away. It will cause you problems left and right. Also, there would appear to be an asterisk in front of the power value (*40kw). Try getting rid of that, since I think OR is choking on that.

    It's good that you found this in the logfile, but you're probably better served by uploading the whole thing

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Torino, Italy.
    Posts
    679

    Default

    I've downloaded the pack; there are many trainset folders there, but I don't find BTW-Kt4D_521+522. Yes, removing the asterisk is the first thing to be done.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ok I did try to remove the artisk, but that still didn't work. Apparently, OR is picking up the old file instead of the saved file. Is it a glitch or something?

    I have the log file here
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Torino, Italy.
    Posts
    679

    Default

    No, there can't be a glitch like this. Go to C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\trains\trainset\BTW-Kt4D_521+522\BTW-Kt4D_521B.eng , line 713 and you will see that this file still has the asterisk in line 713.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ok, i did that, and it works! Finally it's moving! but the problem is trying to stop the train. I had to use the emergency brake to stop, but even with the dynamic brake, it's not stopping.

    Here's what it says on the engine file, I couldn't upload the whole thing because it's not allowing me to.
    Code:
    	Adheasion ( 0.05627 0.4 2 0  )
    	DerailRailHeight ( 8cm )
    	DerailRailForce ( 22t)
    	DerailBufferForce ( 10kN )
    	NumWheels ( 1 )
    	Friction (
    		311N/m/s		-0.10		1.6mph		5.005N/m/s		1.907
    		5.1N/rad/s		1		-1rad/s		0		1
    	)
    	AntiSlip ( 1 )
    	BrakeEquipmentType( "triple_valve, auxilary_reservoir, emergency_brake_reservoir" )
    	BrakeSystemType( Air_single_pipe )
    	MaxBrakeForce( 200kN )
    
    	EmergencyBrakeResMaxPressure( 100 )
    	TripleValveRatio( 2.5 )
    	MaxReleaseRate( 50 )
    	MaxApplicationRate( 3 )
    	MaxAuxilaryChargingRate( 5 )
    	EmergencyResCapacity( 7 )
    	EmergencyResChargingRate( 5 )
    	BrakeCylinderPressureForMaxBrakeBrakeForce( 30 )
    and
    Code:
    	AirBrakesAirCompressorPowerRating( 1.2 )
    	AirBrakesMainMinResAirPressure( 0 )
    	AirBrakesMainMaxAirPressure( 140 )
    	AirBrakesMainResVolume( 5 )
    	AirBrakesAirCompressorWattage( 15000 )
    	AirBrakesCompressorRestartPressure( 130 )
    	AirBrakesAirUsedPerPoundsOfBrakePipePressure( 0.30 )
    	AirBrakesIsCompressorElectricOrMechanical( 1 )
    	
    	TrainBrakesControllerMinPressureReduction( 6 )
    	TrainBrakesControllerMaxApplicationRate( 20 )
    	TrainBrakesControllerMaxReleaseRate( 4 )
    	TrainBrakesControllerEmergencyApplicationRate( 100 )
    	TrainBrakesControllerMinSystemPressure( 0 )
    	TrainBrakesControllerMaxSystemPressure( 80 )
    	TrainBrakesControllerEmergencyBrakeTimePenalty( 0 )
    	TrainBrakesControllerFullServicePressureDrop( 50 )
    	
    	DynamicBrakesMinUsableSpeed( 1 )
    	DynamicBrakesMaximumEffectiveSpeed( 0 )
    	DynamicBrakesMaximumForce( 20KN )
    	DynamicBrakesResistorCurrentLimit ( 540 )
    	DynamicBrakesCutInSpeed( -150 )
    	DynamicBrakesMaxAirBrakePressure ( 100 )
    	DynamicBrakesFadingSpeed( 150 )
    	DynamicBrakesDelayTimeBeforeEngaging ( 0 )
    	DynamicBrakesMaximumSpeedForFadeOut ( 130 )
    	DynamicBrakesEffectAtMaximumFadeOut( 0 )
    	DynamicBrakesHigherSpeedCurveExponent( 0.8 )
    	DynamicBrakesLowerSpeedCurveExponent( 1 )
    	DynamicBrakesNumberOfControllerNotches( 0 )
    	DynamicBrakeHasAutoBailOff( 0 ) 
    
    	BrakesTrainBrakeType( "Air_single_pipe" )
            BrakesEngineControllers( "Independent, Train, Dynamic" )	
    	
    	CabView ( "BTW-Kt4D.cvf" )
    
    
    	EmergencyStopMonitor (
    		MonitoringDeviceMonitorTimeLimit ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAlarmTimeLimit ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDevicePenaltyTimeLimit ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceCriticalLevel ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceResetLevel ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesFullBrake ( 1 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesEmergencyBrake ( 1 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesCutsPower ( 1 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesShutsDownEngine ( 1 )
    	)
    	OverspeedMonitor (
    		MonitoringDeviceCriticalLevel ( 100 )
    		MonitoringDeviceResetLevel ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesFullBrake ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesEmergencyBrake ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesCutsPower ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesShutsDownEngine ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceTriggerOnTrackOverspeed ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceTriggerOnTrackOverspeedMargin ( 2 )
    		MonitoringDeviceResetOnResetButton ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceResetOnZeroSpeed ( 1 )
    	)
    	VigilanceMonitor (
    		MonitoringDeviceMonitorTimeLimit ( 300 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAlarmTimeLimit ( 300 )
    		MonitoringDevicePenaltyTimeLimit ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesFullBrake ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesEmergencyBrake ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesCutsPower ( 1 )
    		MonitoringDeviceAppliesShutsDownEngine ( 0 )
    		MonitoringDeviceResetOnZeroSpeed ( 0 )
    	)
    	EngineControllers (
                Throttle ( 0 1 0.20 0.0 
                    NumNotches ( 6
    				Notch ( 0 0 Dummy )
    				Notch ( 0.2 0 Dummy )
    				Notch ( 0.4 0 Dummy )
    				Notch ( 0.6 0 Dummy )
    				Notch ( 0.8 0 Dummy )
    				Notch ( 1 0 Dummy )
    		)	
    	)
    	Brake_Train ( 0 1 0 0
    	NumNotches ( 2
    		Notch ( 0    0 TrainBrakesControllerFullQuickReleaseStart )
    		Notch ( 0.95 0 TrainBrakesControllerEmergencyStart )
    		)
    	)
    	Brake_Dynamic ( 0 1 0.20 0.00 
    		NumNotches ( 6
    				Notch ( 0 0 Dummy )
    				Notch ( 0.2 0 Dummy )
    				Notch ( 0.4 0 Dummy )
    				Notch ( 0.6 0 Dummy )
    				Notch ( 0.8 0 Dummy )
    				Notch ( 1 0 Dummy )
    		)
    	)
    	DirControl ( -1 0 1 1 )
    	Combined_Control( 0 1 0.2 0.2 throttle dynamic )
    	EmergencyStopResetToggle( 0 1 0 )
    	EmergencyStopToggle( 0 1 0 )
    	AWS ( 0 1 0 )
    	Sanding ( 0 1 0 )
    	Horn ( 0 1 0 )
    	Vigilance ( 0 1 0 )
    	PantographToggle1 ( 0 1 0 )
    	Headlights ( 0 0.25 1 1 )
    	Wipers ( 0 1 0 )
    	BellToggle ( 0 1 0 )
    	BailOffButton ( 0 1 1 )
    	)
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Torino, Italy.
    Posts
    679

    Default

    Here you probably are hitting a real OR bug for the combined throttle/brake controller. The dynamic brake controller instead could have some strange value in the .eng file. If I have time I'll have a check. It would be better if you upload the whole .eng file. If you zip it that should be possible.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by csantucci View Post
    Here you probably are hitting a real OR bug for the combined throttle/brake controller. The dynamic brake controller instead could have some strange value in the .eng file. If I have time I'll have a check. It would be better if you upload the whole .eng file. If you zip it that should be possible.
    I suppose. Here you go. https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bw...TJBUE9CZnFtUlk

    I've included a CON file to test the tram

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,549

    Default

    Perhaps the dynamic brake problem lies here
    DynamicBrakesMinUsableSpeed( 1 )
    DynamicBrakesMaximumEffectiveSpeed( 0 )

    To me this reads that Dynamic brakes have no effect once moving. Maximum effective speed is the speed at which they begin to work with increasing effect as speed decreases.
    Beer is not a matter of life or death, it is much more serious than that.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Torino, Italy.
    Posts
    679

    Default

    OK, I've tested it. In OR it behaves like in MSTS. The brake controller has only two positions: release and emergency, with no intermediate values. Also in MSTS it goes into emergency as soon as you brake. Probably it is intended that it brakes with the dynamic brake. Here the dynamic brakes work with actual OR experimental versions. So it seems that everything works as intended by the builder of the trainset, both in MSTS and OR.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •