Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Oil slick looking shadows on engines

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    369

    Default Oil slick looking shadows on engines

    Hi all,

    I notice on the CSX locos that one side appears to always be in shadow and that these shadows look like oil has been thrown all over one side of the engines (vertical oil slick looking). It is the same in the cab. Does anyone else have this happening to them? Is there a way to lessen this. I have tried all of the graphic settings but the shadows won't go.

    regards Tom

  2. #2

    Default

    Hi Tom,

    Perhaps you could post a picture of what you're experiencing? Is this in the GP/SD/AC? And which side, conductor or engineer?

    If you can give some detail I can attempt to investigate on my side.
    Run8, MSTS, ORTS, TS2017, TSW, Trainz 12

    Regards, Chris

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    369

    Default

    Hi Chris,
    It is on all of the engines. Side varies with the sun I guess? I am still trying to workout how to resize the images I take with the ctrl + f12 key. They are way too large to upload here.

    regards Tom

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    369

    Default Oil slick screenshot

    I managed to upload an image. I hope it is clear enough to see.

    regards Tom
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5

    Default

    Did you try and validate the files through Steam? It may be missing some textures.

    Could also be a graphics driver issue.
    Run8, MSTS, ORTS, TS2017, TSW, Trainz 12

    Regards, Chris

  6. #6

    Default

    I think you may be running out of memory, I used to see this in TS20XX before I upgraded. Please could you post your computer specs?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    369

    Default

    Hi,

    I have latest nvidia drivers installed and I have validated the files.

    My specs are: Asus rampage iv extreme motherboard, intel 4690x core i7 CPU, 32 gig ddr3 mushkin ram, asus Gtx 780 ti x 2 running in sli, boot drive is a Samsung pro 512 gig ssd, + a wd 2 tb black drive for programmes.

    regards Tom

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    5,686

    Default

    I have a horrible feeling the 780's might be the bottleneck - even running SLI. I have a (single) GTX 950 and evident the sim struggles a bit particularly when there's a lot happening on screen. Graphics cards become old tech very quickly!
    Vern.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Home Of The Americas Cup
    Posts
    1,167

    Default

    As far as I know CSX doesn't support SLI. Try just using a single card.
    Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, Asus GTX 960 Strix OC 2gb graphics card, Windows 10 Home 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram , Viewsonic VX2452mh LED 1080P HD Monitor. Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD. Computer Gamer Since 1985

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,652

    Default

    I don't see any problem with those specs. A 780ti is a power-sucking equivalent to a 970, and that was within the original spec recommendations.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->