Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Can someone convert a msts engine to Railworks for me

  1. #1

    Default Can someone convert a msts engine to Railworks for me

    message me if you can?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Hi, there is a legal & illegal way.
    I can help if you have the base file in any format like MAX file or 3DS or OBJ.
    You need to download Blender.
    Import your original 3DS file or OBJ files with textures.
    Download the IGS exporter, refer this thread.
    http://forums.uktrainsim.com/viewtop...f=373&t=145214
    The illegal way is illegal. Sorry

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Salisbury, NC, USA.
    Posts
    2,118

    Default

    Mind you, short of messaging the author, most files will be on the 'illegal way' to convert. Especially if the Author has not stated in the Readme or EULA of their model that it is ok to do so; or the model is one of the 'do with as you see fit' ones. Which does disclude 9/10 things for that.
    So unfortunately, don't get your hopes up. What were you wanting converted, exactly? Hate to say, but it's a bit suspicious to be asking people to PM you for details...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wareham, Dorset, U.K.
    Posts
    1,949

    Default

    I see "The Barrack Room Lawyers" are all chomping at the bit...... AND.... AS USUAL completely missing the point as to how absurd this request is?

    WHY?.... given that there is already a degree of compatibility with MSTS models in OR, would anyone actually want to convert an MSTS model into Railworks...... which is already a VERY obsolete version of the newer train driving game?

    Why not just enjoy it in MSTS/OR and enjoy what is already in RW? No reason you can't run ANY number of sims is there?

    Discuss....
    Geoff
    Dorset - near The Swanage Railway.
    UK

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I have seen in India, many fellows who made good models are now in pain to see there models getting converted in Trainz & RailWorks.
    I am really sad to hear it from a friend who was on face-book, where the announcements were made that no one is going to make new models from now.
    Although I feel to make fresh models for myself always.!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    3,695

    Default

    The OP also cross posted the same question in the RW forums. My response posted in there (essentially saying what was stated above).
    Vern.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    13

    Default

    OP?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,531

    Default

    Original Poster/Person. The one who started this thread.
    Beer is not a matter of life or death, it is much more serious than that.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    13

    Default

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsu...NGRTWvQ/videos

    A really disturbing channel some one made on youtube.
    This guy even converted all static models and scenery from various Indian Routes.
    Such a shame.
    All illegal stuffs.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    3,695

    Default

    Sadly there's a lot of it about in the train sim world - plagiarism and blatant releasing someone else's work as your own is even worse in Trainz.

    My solution - build routes that are so bloody obscure, no one will want to download them, let alone copy them!
    Vern.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •