Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Signals on the Canadian Mountain Passes

  1. #1

    Default Signals on the Canadian Mountain Passes

    I recently purchased the Canadian Mountain Passes DLC and was surprised to find that the route's signals don't seem to adhere to the CROR at all but instead use some other convention.

    As an example, a three-headed signal before a switch was (correctly) showing R/G/R, medium to clear, but the preceding two-headed signal displayed Y/Y, which would normally mean clear to slow (instead of the expected Y/G, clear to medium). Is this a mistake on the part of the route author(s) or do the signals in this area of Canada genuinely utilize a different set of signal indications?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, N.S.WALES, Australia
    Posts
    4,078

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1john3 View Post
    I recently purchased the Canadian Mountain Passes DLC and was surprised to find that the route's signals don't seem to adhere to the CROR at all but instead use some other convention. ....
    They use the "DTG Convention".
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Sycamore, IL
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seagoon View Post
    They use the "DTG Convention".
    Wrong. This is a JL creation from beginning to end.

  4. #4

    Default

    Figures...guess it's time to learn Lua...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, N.S.WALES, Australia
    Posts
    4,078

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by buzz456 View Post
    Wrong. This is a JL creation from beginning to end.
    And that means.....what???
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Sycamore, IL
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seagoon View Post
    And that means.....what???
    DTG didn't create the route. Milepost Simulations made it.
    Last edited by buzz456; 11-11-2017 at 05:01 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    2,968

    Default

    They probably still used DTG signalling logic and scripting.
    Yma O Hyd

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, N.S.WALES, Australia
    Posts
    4,078

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by buzz456 View Post
    DTG didn't create the route. Milepost Simulations made it.
    Doesn't matter who the subbie was....DTG are responsible for the final product because it's sold under their banner, not the sub-contractor's.
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    5,654

    Default

    ISTR the Canadian route also suffered from "Electric Brae" physics - with trains accelerating uphill even when not under power!
    Vern.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, N.S.WALES, Australia
    Posts
    4,078

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NorthernWarrior View Post
    ISTR the Canadian route also suffered from "Electric Brae" physics - with trains accelerating uphill even when not under power!
    Correct, Vern.
    They did, however, include several levels of realism for the train brakes but that didn't compensate for the "let's get up this hill fast!" syndrome.
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->