Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: This hobby as a passive income?

Default This hobby as a passive income?

I wonder if our hobby is too small to make a relatively decent passive income creating content that most users might find interesting. The problem is DW, MLT and TS pretty much have this niche covered. I've been using this software since 2001, creating routes and 3D static content for users on a free basis. But I wouldn't mind dabbing into becoming a minor payware co, developing items for OR and possibly TSW. What is the payware vendors mindset on this? Is it worth pursuing as a p/t job?
    Rory

I am not a vendor, but certainly a consumer.
    I would pay for anything that interests me, and can be used in OR: routes, engines, rolling stock, objects.
    That said, how many people are left that would make it worth your while? And, worth the headache. Headache meaning: I want this, I want that, why can't you make this instead of that, you should do this not that.
    Too many self centered humans thinking that you are there to create just for their personal desires.
    On the other hand, the smaller handful of us would be grateful for pretty much anything of quality.
    Your Blackfoot v3 is a case in point. Good enough to be payware compared to others I've paid for and wanted to shoot myself afterward.
    I'm just rambling, but hopefully someone will give you the inside "business perspective".

I'd do it this way if I was a creator who wanted to earn some cash for my time and effort. Make things. Show them in screenshots here (or wherever). See what kind of interest is generated, and explain it's pay or donation, whatever...see if it is worth the effort.
    Neil

Here at home, in the railroad mayhem capital of the world.