Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 55

Thread: ORTS Version of TrainSimulations Seligman Sub 2.0

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Rocky Coast of Maine
    Posts
    178

    Default

    OR Seligman installed with no problems. Runs on OR 4334 Mono.

    Ran the Southwest Chief last night from Winslow to Flagstaff with no problem, except --- There were three A1 trains backed up at Williams for no apparent reason. 49 had a green signal but did not move until I took control and started it moving. Then all three got under way.
    Russ G

    "Mistakes are the portals of discovery." James Joyce

  2. #32

    Default

    Hi Russ,

    During testing, we encountered a strange anomaly, whereby the AI trains would just stop somewhere, for no apparent reason. Often times they would clear themselves and move along, but other times they didn't. Honestly, I am stumped as to why they even did that to begin with.

    Cheers,
    Jason

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Rocky Coast of Maine
    Posts
    178

    Default

    Open Rails 2019-01-29 01-51-13.jpgDispatcher, this is 4160 Pheunix, Westbound. We have a broken coupler(s) between 3rd and 4th car. Will be delayed while we get them moved. OUT!

    Happens with this consist whenever it is used.
    Russ G

    "Mistakes are the portals of discovery." James Joyce

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Rocky Coast of Maine
    Posts
    178

    Default

    AHH HAA ! Figured that one out. New physics.
    Russ G

    "Mistakes are the portals of discovery." James Joyce

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Rocky Coast of Maine
    Posts
    178

    Red face

    Jason,

    Yes, some strange things happening. On the "Pheonix 4160" I ran into a problem following A1 at Diablo Canyon. The a1 was routed on to the track where Consist 32842 was sitting. Tried to reroute to the right track and Behold, it worked, BUT a strange A146 appered heading in the opposite direction for a meet wit the Player.

    One hell of a way to run a Railroad
    Russ G

    "Mistakes are the portals of discovery." James Joyce

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,046

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jdilworth View Post
    The alerter doesn't sound right away. If you are running in the cab view, the alerter will flash for about 10-20 seconds, before the ear piercing racket. This is consistent with how alerters work on the prototype.

    Cheers,
    Jason
    That's what I thought too, Jason, but it got to the point where the alerter timed out and the train went into emergency braking.

    Anyway....that doesn't detract from the fact that the route is great.
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Woodland, California
    Posts
    405

    Default

    Jason, is there a way to change the directory path, say if it was placed in the wrong folder? I have a BNSF folder for my ORTS system, but after discovering that the exe creates a standalone folder, I am unable to move it without mucking something up.
    "Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today." - James Dean
    calrouteprojectmstsorts.weebly.com/
    californiapacificrailroadorts.weebly.com/
    Cheers, S. J. Hjellum

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jdilworth View Post
    Hi Russ,

    During testing, we encountered a strange anomaly, whereby the AI trains would just stop somewhere, for no apparent reason. Often times they would clear themselves and move along, but other times they didn't. Honestly, I am stumped as to why they even did that to begin with.

    Cheers,
    Jason
    Jason, wonderful work on the route, and much appreciated discount for people who have purchased earlier versions, generous, thanks.

    Pertaining to some strange behavior by AI's, did you guys use the OR log to spot potential problems with activities, route, shapes, or other issues.
    I'm getting warnings - no fatal errors - so that is good.

    Here's a sample that may show why the AI behavior is strange, from the log: ( I have all the recommended option boxes, checked)
    Information: Invalid passing path defined for train 39 at section 440 : overlaps with other passing path

    Information: Invalid passing path defined for train 39 at section 436 : overlaps with other passing path

    Information: Invalid passing path defined for train 39 at section 416 : overlaps with other passing path

    Information: Invalid passing path defined for train 40 at section 440 : overlaps with other passing path

    Information: Invalid passing path defined for train 40 at section 436 : overlaps with other passing path

    Information: Invalid passing path defined for train 40 at section 416 : overlaps with other passing path

    Information: Invalid passing path defined for train 42 at section 440 : overlaps with other passing path

    Information: Invalid passing path defined for train 42 at section 436 : overlaps with other passing path

    Information: Invalid passing path defined for train 42 at section 416 : overlaps with other....and so forth, quite a few
    Would be good if everyone that got the new route, and found problems - whatever they are - checked their logs, could prove enlightening.
    The OR log ( found on the desktop, by default ) is a valuable troubleshooting tool.

    Again, this route is a step up, thanks. Best Regards, Gerry
    Cheers, R. Steele [Gerry] It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.


  9. #39
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by woodfyr View Post
    Jason,

    Yes, some strange things happening. On the "Pheonix 4160" I ran into a problem following A1 at Diablo Canyon. The a1 was routed on to the track where Consist 32842 was sitting. Tried to reroute to the right track and Behold, it worked, BUT a strange A146 appered heading in the opposite direction for a meet wit the Player.

    One hell of a way to run a Railroad
    The loose consist was placed on the AI path, moving the AI won't solve the problem, probably just make further complications ( as you experienced) - the loose consist has to be moved. At least that's my impression...you will need to use the Activity editor part of TSRE to make the correction.

    bandicam 2019-01-29 13-23-43-431.jpg
    Cheers, R. Steele [Gerry] It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.


  10. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,061

    Default

    Easier to just delete the loose consist for now from the ACT file.

    Also, the timings between the ACT and TRF are out of sync for the bottom 6 or so AI entries for the Phoenix act. I simply changed the time values in the TRF to match the ACT for now, haven't run it to see what the impact is

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •