Page 21 of 22 FirstFirst ... 1119202122 LastLast
Results 201 to 210 of 213

Thread: Derail Valley

  1. #201
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    5,503

    Default

    Hopefully that means we will start to see some of that working through in the game.

    My comment about judder got rebutted on the Steam forum but there is definitely a smoothing issue there. They have acknowledged there is a problem with the game hanging on exit, possibly a Unity issue so maybe that is connected with the performance, or maybe the new terrain graphics are just hitting the GPU harder.
    Vern.

  2. #202
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    261

    Default

    Two updates in close succession have added a gondola car (which allows for the scrap metal job) and... a caboose!

    The caboose has storage for items, a Career Manager station (for the paying of fees and, therefore, remote servicing of your train) and a charging point for the remote control unit. It also extends the range of said unit, to aid in shunting. Lastly, it has an independent handbrake to help hold you on gradients, and works as an end-of-train device which is visible on the map as a red dot.

    Nice though it all is, I don't see much utility for it. You need to make a point of connecting it to each train (which means running around to the back to attach it, as it costs $10,000 to spawn it with the radio!) and if, like me, you try to maximise your profits by picking up or dropping off consists along the way, you have to worry about detaching and reattaching it at each stop, too. Given how fast you have to work in order to get the time bonuses, that's them basically out the window.

    I've never had a coupler snap that didn't cause a brake application anyway, so the only real use for the EOT function is remembering where you left part of a train if you had to split and go elsewhere/get a banker engine. I don't use the remote controller either, as I've found I have the most fun driving the steam engine, not either of the diesels.











    Note also that for reasons best known to the developers, you need to buy and find it, first. This seems silly, so here is how, SPOILERS if you don't want to know:

    Go to the shop in City SW and buy "Reginald's Shed Key". Not that far away, between the Sawmill and Forest South, there is a tiny little wye off the main line leading to a locked shed. Inside is the caboose.

  3. #203
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    261

    Default

    New and wonderful in the most recent update is official support for multiple working with the DE2 and DE6 locomotives. Yet another licence to buy, then you just connect the nice blue cable shown below and any other locomotives chained up will work in concert with you, as in real life.





    It doesn't appear that DPUs are possible, as the locos all need to be connected directly together. This doesn't really seem necessary with the game as it is, anyway, and presumbaly the remote control unit could let you emulate this anyway.

    Still no purpose for the caboose IMHO, I pulled no less than four jobs from the Harbour to the Food Factory to test the MU function and didn't see a need for it. With two DE6s you basically have easy mode, you can haul anything up any gradient.

  4. #204
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    5,503

    Default

    Looks like a great update, will have to wean myself off FS20 and try it!
    Vern.

  5. #205
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    261

    Default

    I drove back to the Harbour and also found that you can turn off your lead unit's engines but the controls will still operate the other locos you've multipled up. I tend to assemble my trains with just one DE6 running to save fuel, and likewise during long sections mostly downhill (from the spiral tunnel toward the harbour for example) I was low on fuel and turned one off to ensure I'd be able to run both if needed later.

    When dynamic brakes are implemented, this might not be so wise a strategy...

  6. #206
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    5,503

    Default

    My first time back on the game in quite a few weeks. The developers have implemented temporary winter textures which actually look really good. Much more lifelike IMHO than their default green look:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Vern.

  7. #207
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    261

    Default

    You beat me to it! It's unfortunate it's only a GTA Online-style temporary thing they've patched in and will be patching back at at some point in January, I quite enjoyed driving in the snow while it's snowing outside:







    I also took the opportunity to spawn in the passenger cars (they've been in for a while) and they look fantastic already, even if you can't use them for their intended purpose yet:




  8. #208
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    5,503

    Default

    I'm hoping passenger services are getting close to the top of the roadmap. Lovely grungy European stock though really should have plastic or wooden seating to complete the spartan look.

    I also see the map has received an overhaul with the Military Base connection shown.
    Vern.

  9. #209
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Posts
    2,800

    Default

    I've been considering grabbing this but I'm still a bit weary about the fact that it was designed primarily for use in VR. How are the mouse and keyboard controls? Are they kinda a bolted on, clunky afterthought or does the game actually work just fine that way?

  10. #210

    Default

    I don't have VR, &, the game works/feels great, pretty darn smooth. I believe you'll be right at home, very comfy using KB & mouse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->