Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ref file missing from Allegheny Rails

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Fort Smith, AR
    Posts
    86

    Default ref file missing from Allegheny Rails

    I'm not sure if I've done something wrong or if this is TSRE5's doing but no ref files show up in the TSRE5 route editor with the Allegheny Rails route.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    407

    Default

    I don't know if a REF file was included in the Allegheny route download. In any case you can use RouteRiter to make a new REF file for the route.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Fort Smith, AR
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uli2 View Post
    I don't know if a REF file was included in the Allegheny route download. In any case you can use RouteRiter to make a new REF file for the route.
    Sorry to say that i could never seem to get RouteRiter to work on my end. ^^;

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Spurgeon,TN
    Posts
    643

    Default

    Hi,

    A Ref file was Not Included with the Allegheny Rails route.

    Doug Relyea
    Making stuff that works, using outdated Software on outdated Hardware.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Fort Smith, AR
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drelyea View Post
    Hi,

    A Ref file was Not Included with the Allegheny Rails route.

    Doug Relyea
    Well shoot.
    Now why would someone do a think like that?

    Also while we'er on the subject of route editing and ref files.

    Lets say that i want to take a locomotive or rolling stock model and make it a static object to populate yards and roundhouses. How would i go about doing that and then adding the new objects to the route i'm editing?
    Last edited by stlsf4003; 04-16-2019 at 04:56 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,186

    Default

    What's to stop you from making your own .ref with the shapes you want in it? To place static roling stock, just put the shapes and textures in your route's folders and put an entry in the .ref file

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Fort Smith, AR
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ebnertra000 View Post
    What's to stop you from making your own .ref with the shapes you want in it? To place static roling stock, just put the shapes and textures in your route's folders and put an entry in the .ref file
    Is there a way to open a .ref file with out using RouteRiter? Cause i can't find anyone other way to open one.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    155

    Default

    I use notepad. Any text editor.

    Randy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Just south of NYC
    Posts
    1,487

    Default

    You can download the original Allegheny ref file from here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/bq92dq0v7r...gheny.ref?dl=0

    Michael willed me all his MSTS work to potentially update and improve upon after B&O West End is done.
    Chris
    "True rail fans have two favorite railroads. The B&O and one other."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •