Thread: How can I decode an activity?

Default How can I decode an activity?

Hi, I am rather new to MSTS. What I would like to do is, take an activity I am having trouble solving and investigate it under Activity Editor, or something better? I mean, can I determine what the activity author intended the player to actually do to complete the activity? Then, once I know what I am SUPPOSED to do, I can practice until I can master it. I have copied a couple activities to lengthen the time so I can master speed control as a "trainer". I can then try to match proposed activity time frame. At this time I only do freight activities. I have several Maple Leaf routes, that I purchased. (I am Canadian, eh)

That's always been a problem with the way Microsoft set up activities. I learned from the default routes provided by MSTS that you might be able to spot all the cars in the right places, and make the correct lifts, but in MSTS if you do not do them in the order the author did, you get a message at the in claiming the activity is not complete, or, in some cases you will even get stuck with a speed restriction going back to the starting point. I don't think there is anything you can do about that.

When I make activities I do not fill out the worksheet for the activity, rather I provide a work order that can be printed out with all the lifts and set-offs for the activity. I don't care what order they were done, just that at the end of the activities that all the work was completed. You'll probably still get that nasty message at the end saying it's incomplete but we know that's just another thing Microsoft get wrong!

Paul :-)

One activity, Central Pickups, I built for the Long Island Rail Road but it is only valid for Open Rails. Autopilot Mode being used as a training method for a new driver/engineer!

The activity is for the player to run to about 10 different sidings and pick up the cars there.