Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How do I get two-sided textures?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB, CA.
    Posts
    187

    Default How do I get two-sided textures?

    Pretty much what it says on the tin: I'm using a transparent mesh texture that I want visible on both sides of the face. Working in Blender, and I can get it to show properly there, but in TSRE or OR it's one-sided. Fences do it, trees do it, how do I?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    ADELAIDE, S.A, AUSTRALIA.
    Posts
    145

    Default

    I haven't modelled in years for MSTS but I think I can recall having to put textures on both faces in 3d Canvas.
    Pentium i7-4700 3.4 Ghz QUADCORE 8 Thread, Gigabyte GA-B85M-HD3 Main Board, Speed 1600DDR3 x 8 GIG RAM, WIN 7 -64 Bit Home Premium SP1, Gigabyte-GTX650-2 Gig, Crucial 240Gig SATA3 SSD, 1TB SATA3 Western Dig Caviar Blue 7,200RPM, Casecom ADK-B800SM-82PLUS 800W Power supply.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, USA.
    Posts
    1,789

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tooltroll View Post
    Pretty much what it says on the tin: I'm using a transparent mesh texture that I want visible on both sides of the face. Working in Blender, and I can get it to show properly there, but in TSRE or OR it's one-sided. Fences do it, trees do it, how do I?
    Quote Originally Posted by xcrosswitch View Post
    I haven't modelled in years for MSTS but I think I can recall having to put textures on both faces in 3d Canvas.
    Hi Folks,

    Yep - Concur - 3DC has a function to "Double Side" any object with a simple mouse click - you need two separate faces - one on each side...

    Regards,
    Scott

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB, CA.
    Posts
    187

    Default

    Thanks, guys! Yep, I got it licked by doubling the faces; Just a little less elegant than what I'm used to doing in Blender.

    Open Rails 2019-05-18 12-08-46.jpg

    Bob

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    138

    Default

    From my basic and new understanding, the double-sided face feature in Blender doesn't translate to MSTS/Open Rails, so it's necessary to have two faces back to back. Maybe someday OR will have double sided face support

    Kyle

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB, CA.
    Posts
    187

    Default

    Thanks, Kyle. Yeah, Wayne explained over on ET that for proper lighting, both faces need facing normals, so chances are this is how it will stay.
    I hope when you've got 3D cabs figured out, you'll post some tutorials for the rest of us!

    Bob

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •