Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best Practices For A New MSTS Beginning

Default Best Practices For A New MSTS Beginning

Hello,

I would like to know if there is a resource for a "best practices" pathway a new MSTS trainsim fan? I only have the stock Kuju MSTS install and would like to avoid as many pitfalls as possible. Here are my primary interests...

• Complex Interactive Scenarios - Although I am just getting started, I expect to mature. It would also be nice to have "smart" A.I. trains if possible.
    • Long Routes - The longest routes possible or routes which can be joined. If it isn't possible to actually join one route to another I don't mind arriving at a station, closing the scenario and restarting next route at the same depot.
    • Rail Era - I am interested in all eras of rail development, but I prefer "trains" versus "commuters." I hope this make sense?
    • Re-installation? - If necessary, I can reinstall my MSTS if there is a better structure than the default install.
    • Must-Have Addons - Those downloads or resources which provide an improved experience as well as a solid foundation to use MSTS.
    • Route Building - I have a gimpy noodle at 61, but if this isn't too complicated I would enjoy creating routes in Texas where I live. I would be delighted to add any of my work to the resources here at Trainsim.com.
    • Scenario Creation - Maybe, if not too complicated.
    • Model Building - No interest at this time, but would be willing to assist any model builders with any mundane, non-design tasks to help. Research is one thing I am good at.
    • ???? - Feel free to add anything to this list or please provide links if there is already a resource list and methodology for a ne enthusiast.

I have been introduced to Open Rails. So, I am curious as to whether I should focus on OR or focus on MSTS? I would appreciate any commentary.

Lastly, I would also interested in the favorites of the MSTS/OR community members here.