Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: New Spawn Points

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Metro Vancouver
    Posts
    3,037

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seagoon View Post
    I rarely read the change-log.
    So turn it upside down and try that way to read it.
    Work Safe play hard

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by westerngy View Post
    So turn it upside down ......etc.
    Is that some sort of Canadian humour?
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    North of Adelaide South Australia
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Originally Posted by westerngy

    So turn it upside down and try that way to read it.
    This is why as an Aussie I'm never in a hurry to go to the toilet.

    https://toilography.files.wordpress....n-toilet-1.jpg

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WesternDivision View Post
    This is why as an Aussie I'm never in a hurry to go to the toilet. ....
    Well, we Up Here all know that cartographers have got it wrong ever since the Vikings put to sea.
    This is the correct map.....
    mcarthur-large.jpg
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  5. #15

    Default

    Is there a map/list of the spawn points for AI and portals AI trains can vanish into? Or a way to program them?

    I've been playing Run8 for a couple of days of bad weather, and noticed AI only spawns at BNSF Needles, SP Cedar, BNSF Colton Crossing, SP coming off Yuma Sub, and sometimes ATSF Bakersfield. Yet I have all the routes and AI trains continue over to run past those four spawn points.
    Edwin "Kanawha"

    The Chessie, the train that never was ... (6000 hp Baldwin-Westinghouse steam turbine electric)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    North of Adelaide South Australia
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Originally Posted by seagoon

    Well, we Up Here all know that cartographers have got it wrong ever since the Vikings put to sea.
    This is the correct map.....
    Yes! the true world map with Australia on top, but with a disturbing twist .
    Tasmania is on top of main land Australia , those two headed humans might become rulers of the universe yet .

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    North of Adelaide South Australia
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Originally Posted by Edwin

    Is there a map/list of the spawn points for AI and portals AI trains can vanish into? Or a way to program them?
    Ai trains will only disappear at spawn points or in that section of track that are at the edge of a map. For instance if you only had the default base program of Run8 V2 and spawned a train at Needles and ran to Lenwood it would disappear at Lenwood because that was the end of the map or track. If you added the Cajon expansion then the train would continue past Lenwood to Colton crossing and disappear around BNSF Colton crossing main 2 because that is where the track ended or the edge of the expanded map etc.

    With all the the talk about creating smaller worlds for single players and having the new spawn points in the latest patch, if we could have the ability to set up exits as well as the current enter at selected spawn points, this would certainly add considerable depth to game play and do away with selecting a train and deleting it after reaching a certain point.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WesternDivision View Post
    ..... this would certainly add considerable depth to game play and do away with selecting a train and deleting it after reaching a certain point.
    When I am travelling mainline A to B, at some point I will get rid of any AI trains which have approached and then passed me.
    To have this done automatically, through de-spawn locations, I would consider to be helpful but certainly not a necessity.
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Metro Vancouver
    Posts
    3,037

    Default

    Bruce

    I find a back track or a deadend track with no bumper and just route the AI into it and it deletes itself.
    Work Safe play hard

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by westerngy View Post
    I find a back track or a deadend track with no bumper and just route the AI into it and it deletes itself.
    I never thought of that! Good one.
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •