Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Can't Upload File

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,474

    Default Can't Upload File

    Just wondering if anyone else is having trouble uploading files to the library.

    Tried to upload a 217 MB zip file this evening and after four minutes received an 'unexpectedly disconnected from server' message.

    After the same thing the second time I emailed Nels but never heard back.

    Paul

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    TrainSim.Com World HQ
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Make sure your ftp client is using "plain ftp only", not something with tls.
    Let me know how you make out...
    Rick

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,474

    Default

    Hi Rick,

    I've been uploading files through the File Library>Upload link here for a year and not had any problems.

    I did have an FTP client for Firefox but they disabled it a year ago, then a few months ago they disabled all extensions so I'm using Opera as a browser now. I haven't found an FTP client for that yet, so still just uploading through the library link.

    Paul :-)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    TrainSim.Com World HQ
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Hi Paul,
    Filezilla is a good free client that we know works well.
    https://filezilla-project.org/
    Hope this helps!
    Rick

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,474

    Default

    Thanks Rick,

    I'll give that a try. I tried through the upload link in the library again this morning and it just isn't connecting to the ftp site. No word from Nels which is a little strange.

    Paul :-)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,474

    Default

    Anyone know a Port number for this?

    Paul :-)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    TrainSim.Com World HQ
    Posts
    161

    Default

    In FileZilla it would be the default so you don't need an entry.
    Otherwise, I am pretty sure it is port 21 (standard ftp port)

    Rick

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,474

    Default

    Thanks Rick.

    Paul :-)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,474

    Default

    No Joy,

    Keep getting:

    Error: Connection timed out after 20 seconds of inactivity
    Error: Could not connect to server

    ...also got a page saying the connection was refused because the certificate was not the same as the ftp site I was trying to connect to. I'm trying to connect to ftp/trainsim.com and the certificate is named tsweb.trainsim.com

    Paul

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    TrainSim.Com World HQ
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Under general settings, your target is ftp.trainsim.com,
    user is anonymous, no password, set to Plain Old FTP (insecure),
    transfer is "passive".
    That should be all you need...
    Rick

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •