Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Tile Loading

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cloverdale, CA, USA.
    Posts
    577

    Default Tile Loading

    Anyone else have an issue, especially with longer trains, where the tile(s) ahead of you won't load for up to 45 seconds and if you aren't careful you're floating!?

    My route that I'm working on has a FREIGHT speed of 70 MPH along 90% of the route and PASSENGER is set to 90 MPH. A LOT of my tiles are LOADED, not extremely but highly detailed for sure. Even the lesser detailed tiles take some time to load. This is an older "read" of my log file, but maybe it'll shed some insight.

    Regards,

    -Frank C.

    BIOS = F.11 (Insyde)
    Processor = Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-5010U CPU @ 2.10GHz (4 threads, 2 cores, 2.1 GHz) (L1 Cache 32 KB) (L1 Cache 32 KB) (L2 Cache 256 KB) (L3 Cache 3072 KB)
    Memory = 5.9 GB
    Video = Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500 (1.0 GB RAM) (igdkmd64 20.19.15.4549)
    Display = \\.\DISPLAY1 (1366 x 768, 32-bit, primary, 0 x 0)
    Sound = Realtek High Definition Audio (rtkvhd64 6.0.1.7944)
    Sound = VB-Audio Virtual Cable (vbaudio_cable64_win7 6.1.7600.16385)
    Disk = C: (Local Fixed Disk, NTFS, 909.1 GB, 312.2 GB free)
    OS = Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit (10.0.17134)
    Runtimes = 2.0.50727 SP2 3.0 SP2 3.5 SP1 4 Client 4 Full 4.0 Client
    Runtime = 2.0.50727.8937 (32bit)
    \\.\DISPLAY1 = Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500 (igdumdim32.dll 20.19.15.4549)
    Anisotropy = 16
    Render Targets = 4
    Streams = 16 (stride 255)
    Textures = 8 (8192 x 8192, repeat 8192, ratio 8192)
    Points = 256^2
    Volumes = 2048^3
    Primitives = 8388607
    Vertexes = 16777215
    Vertex Shader = 3.0 (32768 slots, 256 constants)
    Pixel Shader = 3.0 (32768 slots)
    Clip Planes = 6
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Version = X1.3.1-31-g6db2e434
    Build = 0.0.7004.40490 (2019-03-06 22:29:40Z)
    Logfile = C:\Users\fchrist\Desktop\OpenRailsLog.txt
    Executable = RunActivityLAA.exe
    Argument = -start
    Argument = -explorer
    Argument =
    Argument =
    Argument = 5:00
    Argument = 1
    Argument = 0
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ActRandomizationLevel = 0
    ActWeatherRandomizationLevel = 0
    AdhesionFactor = 130
    AdhesionFactorChange = 10
    AdhesionMovingAverageFilterSize = 10
    AdhesionProportionalToWeather = False
    Alerter = False
    AlerterDisableExternal = True
    Autopilot = False
    AuxActionEnabled = False
    AvatarURL = http://openrails.org/images/support-logos.jpg
    BrakePipeChargingRate = 21
    BreakCouplers = False
    Cab2DStretch = 0
    CarVibratingLevel = 0
    CircularSpeedGauge = False
    ConditionalLoadOfDayOrNightTextures = (user set) True
    CorrectQuestionableBrakingParams = False
    CurveResistanceDependent = (user set) True
    CurveSpeedDependent = False
    DataLogger = (user set) True
    DataLoggerSeparator = comma
    DataLogMisc = (user set) True
    DataLogPerformance = True
    DataLogPhysics = (user set) True
    DataLogSpeedUnits = route
    DataLogStart = False
    DataLogStationStops = (user set) True
    DataLogSteamPerformance = (user set) True
    DataLogTrainSpeed = (user set) True
    DataLogTSContents = (user set) 1, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
    DataLogTSInterval = 10
    DayAmbientLight = 20
    DebriefActivityEval = False
    DebriefEvalFilename = OR-DebriefEval.txt
    DebriefTTActivityEval = False
    DisableTCSScripts = False
    DistantMountains = True
    DistantMountainsViewingDistance = (user set) 1000000
    DoubleWire = False
    DynamicShadows = (user set) True
    ExtendedAIShunting = (user set) True
    ExternalSoundPassThruPercent = (user set) 100
    FastFullScreenAltTab = (user set) True
    FullScreen = False
    GraduatedRelease = False
    HotStart = True
    Language =
    LODBias = (user set) -40
    LODViewingExtention = (user set) True
    Logging = True
    LoggingFilename = OpenRailsLog.txt
    LoggingPath = C:\Users\fchrist\Desktop
    Menu_Selection = (user set) C:\Train Simulator, C:\Train Simulator\ROUTES\CajonPass4, , C:\Train Simulator\TRAINS\TRAINSET\SLI.BNSF\BNSF_C44_9W_644 .eng, C:\Train Simulator\TRAINS\CONSISTS\Z-LAJCHI.con, C:\Train Simulator\ROUTES\CajonPass4\PATHS\Westbound Track 2 Def.pat, 5:00, 1, 0
    ModelInstancing = (user set) True
    MSTSBINSound = True
    Multiplayer = False
    Multiplayer_Host = 127.0.0.1
    Multiplayer_Port = 30000
    Multiplayer_UpdateInterval = 10
    Multiplayer_User = fchrist
    MultiplayerClient = False
    MultiplayerServer = False
    NoForcedRedAtStationStops = False
    OpenDoorsInAITrains = (user set) True
    OverrideNonElectrifiedRoutes = False
    PerformanceTuner = False
    PerformanceTunerTarget = 60
    PrecipitationBoxHeight = 100
    PrecipitationBoxLength = 500
    PrecipitationBoxWidth = 500
    PreferDDSTexture = False
    PressureUnit = Automatic
    Profiling = False
    ProfilingFrameCount = 0
    ProfilingTime = 0
    ReplayPauseBeforeEnd = True
    ReplayPauseBeforeEndS = 0
    RetainersOnAllCars = False
    ScreenshotPath = C:\Users\fchrist\Pictures\Open Rails
    ShaderModel = 3
    ShadowAllShapes = False
    ShadowMapBlur = True
    ShadowMapCount = 4
    ShadowMapDistance = 1000
    ShadowMapResolution = 1024
    ShowAvatar = False
    ShowErrorDialogs = True
    SignalLightGlow = False
    SoundDetailLevel = (user set) 3
    SoundVolumePercent = 100
    SpeedControl = True
    SuperElevationGauge = 1435
    SuperElevationMinLen = 50
    SuppressConfirmations = False
    SuppressShapeWarnings = True
    TTCreateTrainOnPoolUnderflow = True
    TTOutputTimetableFullEvaluation = False
    TTOutputTimetableTrainInfo = False
    TTUseRestartDelays = True
    TunnelResistanceDependent = False
    Units = Automatic
    UseAdvancedAdhesion = True
    UseLargeAddressAware = True
    UseLocationPassingPaths = False
    UseMSTSEnv = False
    UseSuperElevation = 0
    VerticalSync = False
    ViewDispatcher = (user set) True
    ViewingDistance = 2000
    ViewingFOV = 45
    WindowGlass = (user set) True
    WindowPosition_Activity = 50, 50
    WindowPosition_CarOperations = 50, 50
    WindowPosition_Compass = 50, 0
    WindowPosition_ComposeMessage = 50, 50
    WindowPosition_DriverAid = 100, 100
    WindowPosition_Help = (user set) 49, 54
    WindowPosition_NextStation = 0, 100
    WindowPosition_Quit = 50, 50
    WindowPosition_Switch = (user set) 100, 53
    WindowPosition_TrackMonitor = (user set) 0, 89
    WindowPosition_TrainList = 100, 0
    WindowPosition_TrainOperations = (user set) 64, 90
    WindowSize = (user set) 1360x768
    WindResistanceDependent = (user set) True
    Wire = True
    WorldObjectDensity = 10
    YoungestFailedToRestore = 0
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Mode = explorer
    Route = Cajon Pass 4.2
    Path = Westbound Track 2 Def (C:\Train Simulator\ROUTES\CajonPass4\PATHS\Westbound Track 2 Def.pat)
    Consist = Z-LAJCHI (C:\Train Simulator\TRAINS\CONSISTS\Z-LAJCHI.con)
    Time = 05:00:00 (5:00)
    Season = Summer (1)
    Weather = Clear (0)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Frank C.
    FranksRails Photography, LLC. -Owner/Webmaster
    fchrist16 (On most Forums)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    1,908

    Default

    Hi Frank,
    I would suggest that :
    DistantMountainsViewingDistance = (user set) 1000000

    might be the problem, as it's equivalent to about 600 miles!! Try reverting to the default value of 40 (= 40000m) and see if your problem is resolved. If it is, and you really want to 'see' further, try 100, which is 100000m (about 60 miles).

    Cheers,
    Ged


  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fchrist16 View Post
    Video = Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500 (1.0 GB RAM) (igdkmd64 20.19.15.4549)
    DataLogger = (user set) True
    DataLoggerSeparator = comma
    DataLogMisc = (user set) True
    DataLogPerformance = True
    DataLogPhysics = (user set) True
    DataLogSpeedUnits = route
    DataLogStart = False
    DataLogStationStops = (user set) True
    DataLogSteamPerformance = (user set) True
    DataLogTrainSpeed = (user set) True
    DataLogTSContents = (user set) 1, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0
    DataLogTSInterval = 10

    DistantMountainsViewingDistance = (user set) 1000000
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Good Morning Frank,

    What Ged said, one million kilometers view distance is a bit much!
    Also I see you are using on-board video which may be a problem with your present settings.
    Additionally you are running with the Data Logger from Options screen set ON!
    Did you read the warning on the the Data Logger Tab?

    regards,
    ............Vince ..............
    ...... Author NECv4 .......
    .... LIRR BUILD PHOTOS ....
    .............LIRR VIDEO.............
    ...... Eschew Obsfucation ......

    On the The Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor there is a Tablet. On it is written:
    "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
    the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
    I lift my lamp beside the golden door!"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cloverdale, CA, USA.
    Posts
    577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slipperman View Post
    Hi Frank,
    I would suggest that :

    might be the problem, as it's equivalent to about 600 miles!! Try reverting to the default value of 40 (= 40000m) and see if your problem is resolved. If it is, and you really want to 'see' further, try 100, which is 100000m (about 60 miles).

    Cheers,
    Ged

    [/COLOR]
    Ged, I'll change it and report back!

    Regards,

    -Frank C.
    Frank C.
    FranksRails Photography, LLC. -Owner/Webmaster
    fchrist16 (On most Forums)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cloverdale, CA, USA.
    Posts
    577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vince View Post
    Good Morning Frank,

    What Ged said, one million kilometers view distance is a bit much!
    Also I see you are using on-board video which may be a problem with your present settings.
    Additionally you are running with the Data Logger from Options screen set ON!
    Did you read the warning on the the Data Logger Tab?

    regards,


    Yes, it's a laptop, so I have little choice in the matter of on-board versus an actual PCI card, do they still use those in desktops even!?

    About the Data Logger, do you mean it creating a large dump file? Would that HINDER the game at all?

    Regards,

    -Frank C.
    Frank C.
    FranksRails Photography, LLC. -Owner/Webmaster
    fchrist16 (On most Forums)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cloverdale, CA, USA.
    Posts
    577

    Default

    For reference, under Options > Video > Viewing Distance is where I'm changing these values...

    Image 1 is at 1,000
    Image 2 is at 1,500
    Image 3 is at 5,000



    Last edited by fchrist16; 07-13-2019 at 04:24 PM.
    Frank C.
    FranksRails Photography, LLC. -Owner/Webmaster
    fchrist16 (On most Forums)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    1,908

    Default

    Hi Frank,
    In the Options > Video screen, there are two Viewing distance settings; one for 'normal' terrain and the other for distant mountains. The first specifies metres and the second, kilometres.

    You don't say which the values you've shown (1,000, 1,500 and 5,000) refer to, but I'm certain (from the screenshots) that they are for the 'normal' terrain, and equate to just over half a mile, just under a mile and just over 3 miles, respectively. The default is 2,000 (mile and quarter).

    To my untrained eye, your third screenshot looks perfectly OK!

    Cheers,
    Ged

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Eltham, Australia.
    Posts
    6,506

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fchrist16 View Post
    About the Data Logger, do you mean it creating a large dump file? Would that HINDER the game at all?
    -Frank C.
    Very much on your machine, turn the "data logger" off
    Cheers
    Derek

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cloverdale, CA, USA.
    Posts
    577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slipperman View Post
    Hi Frank,
    In the Options > Video screen, there are two Viewing distance settings; one for 'normal' terrain and the other for distant mountains. The first specifies metres and the second, kilometres.

    You don't say which the values you've shown (1,000, 1,500 and 5,000) refer to, but I'm certain (from the screenshots) that they are for the 'normal' terrain, and equate to just over half a mile, just under a mile and just over 3 miles, respectively. The default is 2,000 (mile and quarter).

    To my untrained eye, your third screenshot looks perfectly OK!

    Cheers,
    Ged
    Yes Ged, the first Viewing Distance number is what I changed between each of the three shots. I'd say the third one is working fine. Strange, it was allllllll the way up to 1,750 before changing it. 1,750 was causing issues but 5,000 isn't!!

    Regards,

    -Frank C.
    Frank C.
    FranksRails Photography, LLC. -Owner/Webmaster
    fchrist16 (On most Forums)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cloverdale, CA, USA.
    Posts
    577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derekmorton View Post
    Very much on your machine, turn the "data logger" off
    OFF with its head!

    Regards,

    -Frank C.
    Frank C.
    FranksRails Photography, LLC. -Owner/Webmaster
    fchrist16 (On most Forums)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •