Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Is MSTS needed to run OpenRails?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Default Is MSTS needed to run OpenRails?

    Hey everyone,

    In 2004 or so I received Microsoft Train Simulator as a birthday gift. As you'd imagine I had endless hours of enjoyment on what was the best train simulator at that time. Sometime in 2009 during a house move the Packer's & Mover's we had used had opened up and damaged a lot of our things and one of them was my MSTS CDs.

    I've never been able to find another boxed version of MSTS since. Recently I stumbled upon OpenRails and was wondering if OpenRails as a game can be played without MSTS?

    Can I just download and install OpenRails and add MSTS routes, locos and rolling stock in OpenRails? Or is MSTS necessary?

    Regards.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,282

    Default

    You don't absolutely need it, but without it you are limited to payware routes and a small handful of freeware routes (Monon, Mactier, etc) that do not have a batch file to copy over default route assets.

    That's either a curse or a plus, depending upon how you view the value of having 19 year old buildings and trees and 12-18 year old routes built long ago using them that lack many of the upgraded features found in today's screenshots.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, USA.
    Posts
    1,737

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeremiah View Post
    Hey everyone,

    In 2004 or so I received Microsoft Train Simulator as a birthday gift. As you'd imagine I had endless hours of enjoyment on what was the best train simulator at that time. Sometime in 2009 during a house move the Packer's & Mover's we had used had opened up and damaged a lot of our things and one of them was my MSTS CDs.

    I've never been able to find another boxed version of MSTS since. Recently I stumbled upon OpenRails and was wondering if OpenRails as a game can be played without MSTS?

    Can I just download and install OpenRails and add MSTS routes, locos and rolling stock in OpenRails? Or is MSTS necessary?

    Regards.
    Hi Jeremiah,

    I don't think you need it - download the Sceneic Sub pack from here - it should install everything you need in one fell swoop and should have you running in minutes...

    http://openrails.org/

    Personally - I don't think any of the stuff I run uses default assets - I can't remember the last time I ran a bat to copy assets - and I really don't want anything from 2001... Your mileage may vary...

    Best of luck...

    Regards,
    Scott

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks Scott!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    4,731

    Default

    Wherever you source the discs from, there is a very good chance the game won't install if you're running Win 10, due to M$ outlawing Securom copy protection, which was certainly used on the Explosive version, not sure about the original.

    To be brutally honest, if I was looking to get back into the modern train sim, I would be jumping straight to one of the other products - the two DTG sims (TS & TSW), Run 8 (if you want accurate North American Railroad physics) or Trainz in its 2019 incarnation, if you want easy peasy route building.
    Vern.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania USA
    Posts
    63

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NorthernWarrior View Post
    Wherever you source the discs from, there is a very good chance the game won't install if you're running Win 10, due to M$ outlawing Securom copy protection, which was certainly used on the Explosive version, not sure about the original.

    To be brutally honest, if I was looking to get back into the modern train sim, I would be jumping straight to one of the other products - the two DTG sims (TS & TSW), Run 8 (if you want accurate North American Railroad physics) or Trainz in its 2019 incarnation, if you want easy peasy route building.
    Quite right, but there is a work around.
    I used WinCDEmu to combine the 2 discs into a single ISO file. You can then install the single ISO file from a thumb drive which avoids the Win 10 issue.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    801

    Default

    You can also simply copy the files from each CD into just one folder. There are a couple of minor files that are duplicates which can be overwritten by each other (They have no effect on the installer or MSTS) If you run the installer from a single folder with everything in it, MSTS will just install without needing to swap discs. This helps get around the agonizingly slow reading from Disc 2 on many systems.


    MSTS-Roundhouse

    With Open Rails and ZDSimulator
    Info

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pacific Time
    Posts
    892

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NorthernWarrior View Post
    Wherever you source the discs from, there is a very good chance the game won't install if you're running Win 10, due to M$ outlawing Securom copy protection, which was certainly used on the Explosive version, not sure about the original.

    To be brutally honest, if I was looking to get back into the modern train sim, I would be jumping straight to one of the other products - the two DTG sims (TS & TSW), Run 8 (if you want accurate North American Railroad physics) or Trainz in its 2019 incarnation, if you want easy peasy route building.
    SecurROM was on the original. The MS Update to 1.2 removed it. SecurROM was the reason why you had to have the CD inserted to play the game, originally, and why it's no longer needed after the update.
    Last edited by mikeebb; 07-28-2019 at 01:44 AM. Reason: typo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Musterhausen
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Some of the assets which may be required by freeware(eg sounds) can also be found in routes that are supposed to be installed as miniroute, eg LIRR beta

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    165

    Default

    Went looking for MSTS on the web this morning and found it at https://www.old-games.com/download/6...rain-simulator .
    Have to buy a subscription to download it but it's only $6.95 for a day or $9.95 for a month. There may be other stuff you may want.
    I didn't try downloading it because I have a 2001 original but it may be an option.
    Looks legit.

    Randy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •