Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Important issue with edited route

  1. #1

    Default Important issue with edited route

    Hey guys. I've been playing TS for almost 5 years now, I still use the Train Simulator 2014 version. Last year, I had to move away from my parents to go study abroad which means I had to leave the game behind for the time being and move all the files (over 400 GB of content) on an external disk to avoid losing them forever. I should mention also that I specialize in route editing, I edit existing routes to make them less generic and more suitable for certain regions of the world they are trying to portray.

    Recently a friend of mine contacted me and asked me if I had a copy of a freeware route that's no longer available online. It's a route that I massively edited for hours to make it more suitable for the region it's supposed to represent. Turns out I did have a copy and I sent him the Content file and the Assets file. However, when my friend sent me a few screenshots of the route, I noticed that all my changes were nowhere to be seen and the route looked exactly the same as it did before my massive editing job. Can someone explain to me how that's possible? Does this mean that despite saving the edited Content file of the route on my external disk, the changes I made were still somehow lost?

    I would really appreciate some thoughts on this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Antipodes
    Posts
    284

    Default

    It is not possible for Windows to change or do anything to a file unless you tell it to do so.
    As this was a NON-DTG route no changes would have been made by any TS 2014 function, once you saved the edited file.
    A couple of things spring to mind:
    Do you have 2 copies of the same route, one edited the other not? Surely you kept an original copy?
    Did you mistakenly only save the original copy of the route.
    Did you save an unedited copy of the route and possibly failed to overwrite it when you saved your files to disk.
    That's a;; I can think of so far!
    pH

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peterhayes View Post
    It is not possible for Windows to change or do anything to a file unless you tell it to do so.
    As this was a NON-DTG route no changes would have been made by any TS 2014 function, once you saved the edited file.
    A couple of things spring to mind:
    Do you have 2 copies of the same route, one edited the other not? Surely you kept an original copy?
    Did you mistakenly only save the original copy of the route.
    Did you save an unedited copy of the route and possibly failed to overwrite it when you saved your files to disk.
    That's a;; I can think of so far!
    pH

    All I did was copy-paste the edited route file directly on my external hard drive once I was transfering all the files, that's why I don't why my friend got the unedited version.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •