Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Ac4400 - canadian pacific - base package - searchlight simulations

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    1,745

    Default Ac4400 - canadian pacific - base package - searchlight simulations

    Could do with something like this in Run 8

    https://www.store.searchlight-simula...-golden-beaver
    The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    So. Chicago Heights, Il., USA.
    Posts
    830

    Default

    Found this. Incredible work. Nice job
    Searchlight Simulations GE AC4400 on the way!

    https://youtu.be/TqJC-usv5wE?t=13
    Interested in all Train-Sims

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,259

    Default

    Nice......very nice.

    But 500Mb for one locomotive?!
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,261

    Default

    Go read it's manual. Especially the section about "limitations of core software".

    Sounds more like a locomotive simulator waiting for a train simulator to run it in to come along.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    4,682

    Default

    It only runs on the 64 bit version of TS according to their web site, also you can't save a run in progress - presumably due to the complex scripting. However looks like the devs have done an incredible job with the project.
    Vern.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,259

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by geepster775 View Post
    .....Sounds more like a locomotive simulator waiting for a train simulator to run it in to come along.

    Agreed!

    However, I have to respectfully disagree with your signature quote: commenting as one who was involved with IT back in the DR DOS and Win 3.1 days (refer my tagline) I still get asked questions from people my age who are running older systems, such as Win XP and Win NT.
    I find that the time I spend answering those queries is perfectly valid......and no less valid than someone asking a question of an historian about life in the 19th. century, for example.
    Last edited by seagoon; 08-07-2019 at 04:19 AM.
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    1,745

    Default

    So which computer did you have in the 19th century Bruce.

    Mike.
    The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,259

    Default

    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    1,499

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NorthernWarrior View Post
    It only runs on the 64 bit version of TS according to their web site, also you can't save a run in progress - presumably due to the complex scripting.
    Yes, agreed, Vern, a bit of a pity, I've been following the thread on RWA for the last 15 months, so, I'm a tad disappointed, but, there it is!!!

    Cheerz. Steve.
    i5 4690 3.5 GHz Quad Core CPU, Gigabyte Z97-HD3, 16GB RAM, nVidia GTX1060 6GB, WIN 7 PRO 64-bit.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    1,745

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seagoon View Post
    How did you get it in the house buddy. ?
    The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •